Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022, Day 2 Round-up: Kieron Pollard’s New York Strikers register first win in the tournament

The day two of the tournament witnessed a triple header with having two close and thrilling matches.

Abu Dhabi T10 League

The sixth edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League witnessed three matches on the second day of the tournament. There were some close matches including the second match of the day between Delhi Bulls and Bangla Tigers. The day started with the first encounter between Morrisville Samp Army and Northern Warriors and ended up with the win of New York Strikers against Chennai Braves in the last match of the day.

So, without further ado, here we’ll have a look at the complete action of the third day of the ongoing 2022 edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League.

Match 1: Samp Army vs Bangla Tigers

Bangla skipper Shakib Al Hasan won the flip of the coin and asked the Samp Army to bat first at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. Batting first, Samp Army posted a score of 100 runs for the loss of five wickets in the allotted 10 overs. Star Caribbean batter Shimron Hetmyer played a knock of 38 runs off 21 balls with two boundaries and three sixes to his name.

While chasing the target, Bangla Tigers fell short of the target by 16 runs and lost the match by 15 runs. Afghan opener ended up as the highest run scorer for Bangla Tigers with an individual score of 35 runs off 26 balls with 3 boundaries and two sixes on his credit. Dwayne Pretorius won the ‘player of the match award for scalping three wickets by conceding just 11 runs in his quota of 2 overs.

Match 2: Delhi Bulls vs Northern Warriors

Northern Warriors’ skipper Rovman Powell won the toss and decided to bowl first against Delhi Bulls. Riding on the quick knock of 42 runs off just 18 balls from Tim David and wicketkeeper Tom Ban’on’s 38-run knock, Delhi went on to put in a total of 119 runs for the loss of four wickets in the first 10 overs of the match.

While chasing the target, Usman Khan played a brilliant knock of 47 runs off 26 balls with five boundaries and two sixes but his efforts went in vain as the Warriors couldn’t cross the line in the given overs. Shiraz Ahmed’s exceptional bowling performance of 3 wickets conceding only one run in his one over helped Delhi to win the match by a close margin of 4 runs.

Match 3: New York Strikers vs Chennai Braves

Star Zimbabwean all-rounder and Chennai Braves’ skipper Sikander Raza won the toss and decided to bowl first against Kieron Pollard’s New York strikers. Batting first, Paul Stirling’s 32 runs off 15 balls helped Strikers to post a total of 99 runs for the loss of six wickets in 10 overs.

While chasing the target, star Caribbean all-rounder Carlos Braithwaite was the only batter Braves to cross the individual mark of 20 runs for his team. But he couldn’t finish things off for his team and the Braves lost the match by 27 runs.

Strikers’ bowler Akeal Hosein won the ‘player of the match award for his brilliant bowling performance. He scalped 2 wickets by conceding only 6 runs in his quota of two overs.

Rishabh Pant

‘Beta Tumse naa payega’ – Twitter ruthlessly trolls Rishabh Pant following his failure in first ODI against New Zealand

Shubman Gill

‘Need to work on his determination…’ – Fans unhappy with Shubman Gill as he fails to convert his fifty into century against New Zealand