Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022: Bangla Tigers outplay the New York Strikers, Nicholas Pooran's half-century guides Gladiators to a win

Here, we’ll have a look at the complete action that happened on the first day of the sixth season of Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022. The first day

Nov 24, 2022 08:03 IST
New Update
Abu Dhabi T10 League

The sixth season of the Abu Dhabi T10 League kicked off yesterday, the 23rd of November. Two matches were played on the first day of the tournament starting with an inaugural match between Bangla Tigers and Kieron Pollard-led New York Strikers.


Whereas on the other hand, in the second match of the day, Nicholas Pooran’s Deccan Gladiators locked horns with the Team Abu Dhabi led by Chris Lynn. Notably, some of the renowned Indian cricketers are also appearing in this 2022 edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League.

So, without further ado, here we’ll have a look at the complete action that happened on the first day of the sixth season of the entertaining cricket tournament.

Match 1: Bangla Tigers vs New York Strikers


Bangla Tigers locked horns with the New York strikers in the tournament opener. Strikers’ skipper Kieron Pollard won the toss and asked Shakib Al Hasan’s men to bat first. Batting first, the Tigers posted a big total of 131 runs for the loss of five wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Blistering opener Evin Lewis smashed a brilliant half-century knock of 58 runs off just 22 balls with two boundaries and seven maximums to his name.

While chasing the target, only the skipper Kieron Pollard and number three batter Azam Khan could make an impact with the bat. Pollard smashed 45 runs off just 19 balls with three boundaries and four sixes whereas Azam Khan played a knock of 34 runs off just 13 balls with four boundaries and two sixes to his name. But unfortunately, the Strikers failed to cross the line in the given overs, and they could score only 112 runs for the loss of 8 wickets and lost the match by 19 runs. Evin Lewis was adjudged ‘player of the match for his brilliant knock in the favor of Bangla Tigers.

Match 2: Deccan Gladiators vs Team Abu Dhabi

Deccan Gladiators under the captaincy of Caribbean star Nicholas Pooran took on Team Abu Dhabi in the second and last match of the first day of the tournament. The gladiators decided to bat first after winning the toss. Riding on the captaincy knock of 77 runs off just 33 balls from Nicholas Pooran, Gladiators managed to post a massive total of 134 runs for the loss of six wickets in the 10 overs.

While chasing the target, Team Abu Dhabi could score only 99 runs for the loss of six wickets in the entire 10 overs. Wicketkeeper-batter James Vince ended up as the highest run-scorer for the team with his knock of 37 runs off 19 balls with four boundaries and two sixes. Eventually, Gladiators registered a win by 35 runs and skipper Pooran won the ‘player of the match award.

#Suresh Raina #Kieron Pollard #Abu Dhabi T10 League 2022 #Bangla Tigers #Deccan Gladiators #Team Abu Dhabi