'Vande Mataram' - Fans react as India's Chandrayaan 3 makes historical moon landing

Indian space mission Chandrayaan 3 makes its landing on moon, making India to become first nation to land on south pole of moon

Updated On
New Update
Chandrayaan 3

Chandrayaan 3 (Source: Twitter)

On Wednesday, August 23, the Vikram Lander Module successfully completed India's third lunar space mission, Chandrayan-3, by making a gentle landing on the moon's surface. The entire country is celebrating the historic accomplishment of India becoming the fourth country in the world, after the United States along with the Soviet Union, and also China, to set foot on the moon. India also made history by becoming the first country to successfully arrive on the moon's South Pole.


Notably, Chandrayan-3 was launched on July 14, 2023, from Andhra Pradesh's Sriharikota Satish Dhawan Space Center. It is the Indian Space Research Organization's (ISRO) second attempt following the Chandrayan-2 mission's failure, which encountered difficulties during a soft landing on the surface of the moon in 2019.

Similar to Chandrayan-2, which failed during the final 20 minutes before landing, the real test of the mission started at the final leg of the landing. Vikram LM was able to use its onboard computers and logic to find a favourable site to make a smooth landing on the lunar surface thanks to ISRO's Automatic Landing Sequence (ALS), which was launched during the vital phase. The entire country was anxiously awaiting the successful landing and was thrown into a frenzy when it was accomplished.

Indian Cricketers celebrate Chandrayaan 3's success


The Vikram Lander Module of the Chandrayaan-3 mission bears the name of Vikram Sarabhai (1919–1971), who is widely regarded as the founder of the Indian space program. The triumph, according to India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi, is a symbol of a developed India as he also thanked the ISRO scientists for their historic accomplishment. Additionally, he lauded it as a victory for all of humanity that might aid future moon expeditions by other nations.

The entire Indian cricket community also joined in with the celebration and expressed their joy at this proud moment for the nation and congratulated ISRO on the mission's success at the same time. The Players like Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir etc.

Let us look at some of the tweets from the Indian cricketing players;





India Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma Hardik Pandya Suryakumar Yadav Twitter Reactions