UEFA Euro 2020 : Format, venues, groups and all you need to know

The competition will be played from 11 June to 11 July 2021

France team
(Image Credit: Twitter)

The sudden outbreak of Coronavirus forced the organizers of the Euro 2020 to push the tournament to 2021. The competition will now be played from 11 June to 11 July 2021. The revised dates and venues were approved by the UEFA Executive Committee on 23 April 2021.

How does a Group stage look ?

Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia

Group D: England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic

Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia

Group F: Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany

Also read: Liverpool inch closer to a top four finish in Premier League – Sky247 Blog

Who will host the UEFA Euro 2020?

The tournament, for the first time in the competitions’ 60 year history, will be played across the continent with 11 host cities. See their names below.

Final and semi-finals, two round of 16 games, three group games

London, England: Wembley Stadium

Six group games, one quarter-final

Saint Petersburg, Russia: Saint Petersburg Stadium

Three group games, one quarter-final

Baku, Azerbaijan: Baku Olympic Stadium

Munich, Germany: Football Arena Munich

Rome, Italy: Olimpico in Rome

Three group games, one round of 16 game

Amsterdam, Netherlands: Johan Cruijff ArenA

Bucharest, Romania: National Arena Bucharest

Budapest, Hungary: Puskás Aréna

Copenhagen, Denmark: Parken Stadium

Glasgow, Scotland: Hampden Park

Seville, Spain: Stadium La Cartuja Sevilla

What is the format of UEFA Euro 2020 ?

The format is similar to the UEFA Euro 2016. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Round of 16 with four best third-place finishers.

Where to watch UEFA Euro 2020?

Fans in India and Indian Subcontinent will be able to enjoy the live broadcast of matches on the Sony Network.

How did the teams qualify for UEFA Euro 2020?

Twenty teams – the top two in each ten groups reached the tournament through European qualifiers which were played from March to November 2019. The remaining four teams qualified via playoffs.

Follow for all the latest cricket, football, and other sports news from all parts of the world.

Shaheen and Shahid Afridi

Shahid Afridi confirms Shaheen Afridi’s engagement with his daughter

Mairaj Ahmed

Indian shooter Mairaj Ahmed to train under Olympic gold medallist Ennio Falco in Italy