‘Yeh toh Big Bash ka Mumbai ban gaya!’ - Fans congratulate Perth Scorchers as they win BBL for the fifth time

Here is how fans have congratulated Perth Scorchers for their fifth BBL title after defeating the Brisbane side

New Update
Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat

Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat (Image Source: Twitter)

On 4 February 2023, Brisbane Heat took on Perth Scorchers in the final of the ongoing Big Bash League. The match took place in Perth, Australia. It was a massive chance for the Brisbane side to win the tournament despite finishing in the fifth spot after the group stage. On the other hand, Perth Scorchers were looking to defend the title that they won in the last edition.


Speaking of the match, Brisbane Heat won the toss and elected to bat first. Josh Brown and Sam Heazlett came out to open the innings. Brown gave a blistering start as he scored 25 runs off 12 balls, including four boundaries and one six. Sam Heazlett scored 34 runs off 30 balls, including two fours and one six. 

Perth Scorchers successfully defended their title by winning the final against Brisbane Heat

Then, Nathan McSweeney scored 41 runs off 37 balls, including three fours and one six. Skipper Jimmy Pierson scored three runs while Sam Hain scored 21* runs off 16 balls. Max Bryant scored 31 runs off 14 balls, including two fours and three sixes. He batted at a strike rate of 221.42. Finally, Brisbane Heat scored 175 runs for seven wickets in 20 overs. For Perth Scorchers, Jason Behrendorff and Matthew Kelly took two wickets each. While, David Payne, Aaron Hardie, and Andrew Tye took one wicket each. 


For the Perth side, Stephen Eskinazi and Cameron Bancroft came out for the chase. But, they were in a spot of bother when they lost three wickets for 54 runs in 7.5 overs. But, skipper Ashton Turner scored 53 runs off 32 balls, including five fours and two sixes. He batted at a strike rate of 165.62. Then, both Nick Hobson and Cooper Connolly held their nerves and played top cameos. Hobson scored 18 runs off seven balls while Connolly scored 25* runs off 11 balls. Finally, they chased down the target with five wickets and four balls to spare. Thus, Perth Scorchers managed to win the Big Bash League title for the fifth time in their history. Even, it was their back-to-back titles in two consecutive years.

Fans came up with some congratulatory tweets for Perth Scorchers:


Cricket News Big Bash League 2023-24 Perth Scorchers Brisbane Heat Twitter Reactions BBL