‘World Cup nahi bro, bilateral series….’ – Fans take a dig at India as they win rain-affected T20I series over New Zealand

The men in blue will now face the hosts in the ODI series starting from Friday, the 25th of November.

New Zealand vs India

India and New Zealand locked horns in the last and third of the three-match T20I series. Both teams played this match at McLean Park in Napier. The Kiwi team was without their regular skipper Kane Williamson in the last match of the series. Stand-in skipper Tim Southee won the toss and decided to bat first at the challenging and competitive turf of McLean Park.

Batting first, Tim Southee’s men managed to post a total of 160 runs and lost all 10 wickets in 19.4 overs. While chasing the target, India had scored 75 runs for the loss of four wickets in nine overs before the rain played the spoilsport in the game. Eventually, due the match ended up in a tie according to the DL/S method.

The result of both the match and the series has drawn various reactions from fans on Twitter. Some of the fans went on to take a dig at the Indian team as they haven’t forgotten the outing of Rohit Sharma’s men in the recently concluded 20-20 World Cup 2022.

Here’s how fans reacted:

Speaking of the action in the third T20I, opener Devon Conway and explosive middle-order batter Glenn Phillips played the half-century knocks for the hosts. Conway played an individual knock of 59 runs off 49 balls alongside a 54-run individual knock from Glenn Phillips. Bowling brilliantly, Mohammed Sira scalped four wickets by conceding only 17 runs in his quota of four overs. Other than him, the young left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh also claimed the same number of scalps to his name alongside the one wicket taken by Harshal Patel.

While chasing the target, the Indians faced an early collapse when they lost three wickets on just 21 runs in 2.5 overs. Although skipper Hardik Pandya’s knock of 30 runs off 18 balls helped India to reach the par score of 75 runs for the loss of four wickets in the nine overs at the time when rain completely stopped the match.

Eventually, the match couldn’t be resumed and ended in a tie. Mohammed Siraj won the ‘player of the match award for his brilliant performance in favor of India.


Rapper Badshah to thrill at ILT20 Opening Ceremony Friday January 13 2023

Abu Dhabi T10 League

Viacom18 brings back a new season of Abu Dhabi T10, starting from 23rd November