Shaheen Afridi achieves this unique record after leading Lahore Qalandars to maiden title

Shaheen won the title in his maiden season as skipper

Lahore Qalandars (Image source: Twitter)

After waiting for six seasons, the Lahore Qalandars have finally managed to win their maiden title. As they beat the Multan Sultans on Sunday in the final, the Afridi-led side emerged as the champions of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2022. The Lahore-based franchise won the final by 42 runs. This made Shaheen Afridi, the youngest captain to win a T20 tournament.

Later, in what was a heart-touching moment, Shaheen Afridi shared a wonderful moment with Mohammad Rizwan. Both the captains of the two teams were seen hugging each other after the game. As a matter of fact, Afridi even lifted the keeper-batter.

The video of them embracing each other instantly went viral. Thus, their gesture won the day. As far as the game is concerned, the Qalandars captain was absolutely sensational during the final as he picked three wickets and gave just 30 runs. His side was clinical, to say the least.

Earlier, after winning the toss and choosing to bat first, Qalandars got to 180-5. It was Mohammad Hafeez who produced a gem of a knock. The “Professor” scored 69 off just 46 deliveries and struck nine boundaries and a six.

Quickfire knocks by Harry Brook (41 off 22) and David Wiese (28 off 8) ensured that they end the innings on a high. While chasing 181 in the second innings, the Sultans kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Although a few of their batters got starts, none of them were able to convert it into a big score.

Lahore’s bowlers were superb as well and barely gave any loose deliveries. Thus, they scripted a memorable game for themselves. Hafeez won the Player of the Match award for his sensational knock. However, Rizwan won the Player of the Series award, as he scored 546 runs in the competition at an average of close to 70.

Sri Lanka

IND vs SL: Bullet shells recovered from Sri Lanka team bus, Chandigarh police on high alert

Punjab Kings

Confirmed! This player to lead Punjab in Indian T20 League 2022