Saba Karim makes a big statement on Rishabh Pant’s place in the playing XI in 20-20 World Cup 2022

The Indian selectors have preferred Rishabh Pant over Sanju Samson in the squad of the 20-20 World Cup 2022.

Saba Karim, Rishabh Pant

Indian team is gearing up the preparations for the upcoming 20-20 World Cup 2022 commencing on the 16th of October next month. The selectors have already announced the squad for the marquee tournament. There are a lot of talks regarding the place of young wicketkeeper-batter Rishabh Pant in the playing XI.

Recently, the former Indian selector Saba Karim has come up with the latest statement on the possibilities for the 24-year-old lad in the final XI of India during the eighth edition of the 20-20 World Cup. Saba went on to say that the Indian management might opt to go with the senior wicketkeeper-batter Dinesh Karthik instead of Pant.

They feel that they need more of his kind of a player at number six who can do the finisher’s role – Saba Karim

“Well, there is always a possibility, but I think the Indian team management has decided to go ahead with Dinesh Karthik which is not a bad move. They feel that they need more of his kind of a player at number six who can do the finisher’s role in a much better manner because Rishabh Pant in that kind of particular role has not been tried before and places above that have kind of been sorted,” said Saba Karim on sports 18.

“So, I do have my doubts that Rishabh Pant will get a look in because the Indian team has kind of found the right combination,” he added later.

Notably, the Indian team played with both Karthik and Pant together in the XI during the first T20I against South Africa. But there is still a conundrum over Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant. So, it will be interesting to see the decision of the management while picking the playing XI in their inaugural match of the campaign against the arch-rival Pakistan.

Here’s a look at the Indian squad for the 20-20 World Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players – Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Suryakumar Yadav

Suryakumar Yadav breaks multiple records with his unbeaten half-century knock in first T20I vs South Africa

Sanju Samson

Sourav Ganguly comes up with a major update on the future of Sanju Samson with team India