‘Kisi ne Bomb fodne ka trial Kiya hoga!’ – Fans go crazy as floodlights catch fire during PSL 2023 during opening ceremony

Due to the mishap, the first match of PSL Season eight kicked off 30 minutes later.

PSL Season 8
PSL Season 8 (Image Source: Twitter)

On 13 February 2023, the stage was set for the opening of PSL Season eight in Multan Cricket Stadium. Lahore Qalandars took on Multan Sultans in the opening match of the tournament. But, a mishap happened during the opening ceremony of the tournament. Due to the fireworks during the opening ceremony, one of the floodlights caught fire.

According to reports, the fire brigade immediately arrived at the place and controlled the fire. However, there was no reported case of any harm to any people. Speaking of the match, Multan Sultans won the toss and elected to field first. For Lahore Qalandars, Fakhar Zaman and Mirza Baig came out to open the innings.

Here is the shared tweet:

Lahore Qalandars defeated Multan Sultans by one run in the PSL 2023 opener

Fakhar Zaman made a great start to this edition of PSL as he scored 66 runs off 42 balls, including three fours and five sixes. Mirza Baig scored 32 runs off 26 balls, including five boundaries. Then, both Sikandar Raza and Shai Hope scored 19 runs each. Finally, Lahore Qalandars scored 175 runs for six wickets in 20 overs. For Multan Sultans, Usama Mir and Ihsanullah took two wickets each. Along with them, Shahnawaz Dahani and Akeal Hossein took one wicket each.

In reply, Shan Masood and Mohammad Rizwan came out to chase the target. Rizwan also made a great start to this edition of PSL as he scored 75 runs off 50 balls, including eight boundaries and one six. Then, Shan Masood scored 35 runs off 31 balls while David Miller scored 25 runs off 20 balls. Pollard also scored 20 runs but ultimately, they failed short by just one run. They managed only 174 runs for six wickets in 20 overs while Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan, and Hussain Talat took one wicket each. Fakhar Zaman won the player of the match award for his brilliant knock at the top for Lahore Qalandars.

Here is how fans have reacted to the incident of the floodlight catching fire during the opening ceremony of PSL Season eight:


Bangalore Women's T20 League

‘Men’s team jaye panvel, ab full support to women’s team’- Top 10 funny memes as Bangalore assemble a star-studded team for the Women’s T20 League 2023

Prithvi Shaw

‘Shirdi wale Sai Baba deta chappar phadke!’ – Fans go crazy as Prithvi Shaw shares special Instagram story with his ‘wifey’ on Valentine’s Day