Kane Williamson to David Warner : Complete list of players who pulled out of ‘Hundred’ and their replacements

The tournament is set to kick off on July 21

Faf du Plessis
Faf du Plessis ( Image Credit: Twitter)

ECB’s ‘Hundred’ is the latest inductee in several formats of the game. The ‘Hundred’, which will see each team getting 100 deliveries in their inning, is an experimental tournament that will give insights on the possible future developments in the game. T20 cricket is highly popular among the masses. The glamour of the format attracts a lot of fans but sometimes that compromises the competitiveness of the game. With ‘Hundred’, ECB will study if the format is accepted by the fans or not. The first edition of the league is all set to kick off on July 21. 

Also read: England name unchanged squad for Pakistan ODIs – Sky247 Blog

The tournament created a lot of buzz when it was first announced but the COVID-19 situation and national commitments have seen several stars pull out of the league. The likes of Kane Williamson, David Warner, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Kagiso Rabada, Shadab Khan, Nicolas Pooran etc have withdrawn their names from the tournament. Meanwhile, in the women’s game, Meg Lanning, Beth Mooney, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy and Sophie Molineux – have pulled out from the event among others.

However, the loss of one is an opportunity for the other. All of the eight franchises have roped in replacements for the missing players. Here is the complete list of players who have pulled out of the league and their replacements.

Birmingham Phoenix

In: Finn Allen, Erin Burns, Adam Milne, Imran Tahir, Will Smeed, Dillon Pennington,

Out: Adam Zampa, Kane Williamson, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Ashleigh Gardner, Henry Brookes

London Spirit

In: Grace Scrivens, Josh Inglis, Brake Cullen

Out: Glenn Maxwell

Manchester Originals

In: Carlos Brathwaite, Ollie Robinson, Colin Munro, Lockie Ferguson, Laura Jackson, Fred Klaassen, Sam Hain

Out: Shadab Khan, Harry Gurney, Wayne Madsen, Nicholas Pooran, Kagiso Rabada

Northern Superchargers

In: Jordon Thompson, Laura Kimmince, Faf du Plessis, Laura Wolvaardt, Sterre Karlis, Kalea Moore, Ben Raine

Out: Olly Stone, Aaron Finch, Nicola Carey, Alyssa Healy

Trent Rockets

In: Wahab Riaz, Heather Graham, Summy-Jo Johnson, Rachel Priest, Ella Claridge, Emily Windsor, Sam Cook

Out: Nathan Coulter-Nile, Annabel Sutherland, Sophie Molineux, Elyse Villani

Welsh Fire

In: Glenn Phillips (until Kieron Pollard arrives), Jimmy Neesham (first three games), Lungi Ngidi (next five games), Piepa Cleary, Sune Luus, Georgia Redmayne, Bethan Ellis, Leus du Plooy,Lissy Macleod, Nicole Harvey

Out: Georgia Wareham, Meg Lanning, Beth Mooney,Jhye Richardson, Kieron Pollard

Southern Brave

In: Devon Conway,Amanda-Jade Wellington, Quinton de Kock, Jake Lintott

Out: Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Amelia Kerr

Oval Invincibles

In: Danielle Gregory,Shabnim Ismail,Jordon Cox

Out: Rachael Haynes

Follow for all the latest cricket, football, and other sports news from all parts of the world.

Eoin Morgan

England name unchanged squad for Pakistan ODIs

Kamran Akmal

Kamran Akmal wants India-Pakistan ties to resume, says Sourav Ganguly can make it happen