England name unchanged squad for Pakistan ODIs

Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler are still missing from the squad

Eoin Morgan
Eoin Morgan ( Image Credit: Twitter)

After a thumping win over Sri Lanka, England now shift their focus on a formidable Pakistan. The World Champions will play as many as three ODIs against the Asian giants and have named an unchanged squad for the same. The squad includes Tom Banton, who was added to the squad for the final ODI against Sri Lanka as a replacement for Dawid Malan.

Also, George Garton, who is yet to make his international debut, has been retained in the squad. Jos Buttler, who picked up a calf injury in the 1st T20I against Sri Lanka and Ben Stokes, who recently made a return for Durham in the T20 Blast, have not been included. 

Also read: Ollie Robinson available for selection against India – Sky247 Blog

England will also play three T20Is against Pakistan following the ODI series, the squad for which will be announced later this month. England were barely challenged by a depleted Sri Lanka but the Pakistan series won’t be a cakewalk for sure.

The ‘Men in Green’ picked up a comprehensive win over South Africa in their last ODI series. Most of the players come into the series on the back of some sizzling performances in the Pakistan Super League. The likes of Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan have been in sensational form while Shaheen Afridi, Hasan Ali and Haris Rauf will enjoy the conditions in England. Pakistan also have some world class spinners up their sleeves. The series gets underway on July 8, with the other two matches being played on July 10 and July 13.

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, George Garton, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Pakistan ODI Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf , Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Usman Qadir.

Follow for all the latest cricket, football, and other sports news from all parts of the world.

Ollie Robinson

Ollie Robinson available for selection against India

Faf du Plessis

Kane Williamson to David Warner : Complete list of players who pulled out of ‘Hundred’ and their replacements