IPL 2023 – Who is Suyash Sharma? the new bowling wizard for Kolkata Knight Riders

The 19-year-old spin sensation scalped three wickets by conceding 30 runs in four overs; played as an impact player for KKR against RCB.

Suyash Sharma

Kolkata Knight Riders outmuscled Royal Challengers Bangalore in their second match of the Indian Premier League 2023. Both teams played this ninth match of the tournament at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata owing to the bowling excellence from their spin trio of Sunil Narine, Varun Chakravarthy, and Suyash Sharma.

Out of these three, most of the cricket fans and cricketing fraternity were familiar with the names Sunil Narine and Varun Chakravarthy but something that completely came out of nowhere and surprised everyone was the new spin sensation, Suyash Sharma.

The 19-year-old came as a mystery spinner for both teams and scalped three wickets by conceding only 30 runs in his quota of four overs.

With said that, here in this article, we’ll have a look at the journey of this young sensation and know about this young bowling wizard for KKR in the Indian Premier League 2023.

Here’s all about Suyash Sharma

Suyash Sharma was named in the playing XI of the hosts KKR but he was included in the list of substitute players. Later on, he was introduced as the impact player in the second innings of the match in place of KKR’s Venkatesh Iyer to bowl for KKR.

Notably, it was the debut match for Suyash in the Indian Premier League. Earlier, he was picked by the franchise at his base price of INR 20 Lakh during the mini-auction for the 16th edition of the cash-rich Indian franchise T20 tournament.

Sharma basically belongs to Delhi and he hasn’t appeared in any kind of domestic cricket; be it List-A, First-Class, or T20 games before his appearance on Thursday against RCB. It was his first match in competitive cricket. He is currently in action for the U-25 cricket team of Delhi.

Here’s a look at the playing XI of Kolkata Knight Riders played against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

KKR Playing XI: Mandeep Singh, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Shardul Thakur, Sunil Narine, Suyash Sharma, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, and Varun Chakravarthy.

IPL Updates

Indian Premier League 2023: Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap updated list

Top wicket takers of IPL

Top 5 wicket-takers in IPL history