Indian T20 League 2023: Date, Time, Venues, and all other details you need to know

Here is the schedule, venues, date, and time for the upcoming edition of the Indian T20 League that fans need to know

New Update
Indian T20 League

Indian T20 League (Image Source: Twitter)

On 17 February 2023, the schedule of the upcoming edition of the Indian T20 League came out. The Indian Cricket Board announced the schedule as the tournament is going to kick off on 31 March 2023. In the last edition, all matches were played in Mumbai, Pune, and Ahmedabad. But, this time around, 12 venues have been selected.


The tournament will happen over the course of 52 days. Throughout the league stage, all teams will play seven home games and seven away games. The Gujarat franchise will kick off the tournament on 31 March as the defending champions. They will take on the Chennai franchise at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad.

Here is the shared tweet:

A total of 70 matches will be played in the group stage of the Indian T20 League


A total of 18 double headers will take place. Day games will take place at 3:30 PM IST while the evening games will take place at 7:30 PM IST. The first double-header will happen on 1 April 2023 when Punjab will take on Kolkata in Mohali and Luckow will play against Delhi in Luckow. However, still, no schedule has been made for the playoffs and finals.        

Two groups have been considered. Mumbai, Kolkata, Rajasthan, Delhi, and Lucknow are in the Group A. On the other hand, Chennai, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Punjab, and Gujarat are in Group B. Speaking of the last edition, Gujarat and Rajasthan franchises were the finalists as Hardik Pandya led the Gujarat franchise to the title at their maiden attempt. However, it was a forgettable season for both the Mumbai and Chennai franchise as they finished in the bottom half.

The 12 selected venues are Ahmedabad, Mohali, Lucknow, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata, Jaipur, Mumbai, Guwahati, and Dharamsala. Meanwhile, it will be the 16th edition of the tournament. Mumbai franchise have won it five times while Chennai have won it four times. Both Hyderabad and Kolkata franchises have won the tournament two times. Rajasthan have won the tournament once so far. 

Cricket News IPL 2023