‘Gujarat’- Remember the name’- fans in awe as Gujarat lift the trophy in their first-ever season

Debutant, Gujarat clinch the Indian T20 League 2022 title after beating Gujarat by 7 wickets on Sunday at Narendra Modi Stadium.

Gujarat: (Image Source: BCCI/IPL)

Playing their first season in the Indian T20 League, Gujarat created history as they beat Rajasthan by 7 wickets at Narendra Modi Stadium to clinch the title on Sunday. After restricting Rajasthan to 130 runs in the first innings, Gujarat didn’t make the best of the starts. Prasidh Krishna accounted of the wicket of Saha (5 off 7) in the 2nd over and Trent Boult had Mathew Wade (8 off 10) in the 5th over to leave the team reeling at 23 for 2 in 4.3 overs.

However, Hardik Pandya then joined hands with Gill and the duo added 63 runs for the 3rd wicket. They did a sensational recovery and didn’t allow Rajasthan to pick any wicket till the 14th over. Both complimented each other and took the game out of the hands of Rajasthan.

Yuzvendra Chahal gave the team a glimmer of hope after taking the wicket of Hardik Pandya (34 off 30) in the 14th over. Gill, however, stayed till the end and Rajasthan couldn’t pick a single wicket, thereafter. Shubman Gill played a match-winning unbeaten knock of 45 runs in 43 balls, while Miller stayed unbeaten on 32 off 19. Thanks to those vital contributions, Gujarat chased down the score in 18.1 overs.

Earlier, Rajasthan managed to score 130 runs at the end of the first innings. Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal didn’t start off too well but weren’t too bad either. Yashasvi Jaiswal, who was struggling, to open his account, hit boundaries with ease, later.

However, he couldn’t convert the starts into big scores. He got out after scoring 22 runs in 16 balls in the 4th over off Yash Dayal. Jos Buttler, on the other hand, was happy to play as the second fiddle. At the end of the power play, Rajasthan had scored 44 runs for the loss of Yashasvi.

Sanju Samson, once again, hit a boundary on the very first ball he faced, but, once again, failed to convert the start into a big score. Hardik Pandya came to bowl after the power play and denied both Samson and Buttler to score boundaries at regular intervals. On the other hand, Rashid Khan was also making life difficult with his accuracy.

Hardik Pandya, eventually, had Samson (14 off 11) in the 9th over. Padikkal too had a poor outing as he could only manage 2 runs in 9 balls before Rashid Khan had him caught behind in the 12th over. After the power play, Rajasthan could only manage 35 runs in the next 6 overs for the loss of Samson and Padikkal.

Rajasthan were still hopeful of scoring a big score as Jos Buttler was still at the crease. However, Hardik Pandya ended all the hopes after getting Buttler out caught behind on the first ball of the 13th over. Rajasthan couldn’t recover from there one as wickets kept falling at short intervals.

Sanju Samson, in the end, managed 130 runs. Hardik Pandya produced a sensational bowling display, returning with figures of 3 for 17 in 4 overs. Rashid Khan (1 for 18) and Sai Kishore (2 for 20) also returned with impressive figures.

Here’s a look at some of the notable reactions from the game:




Indian T20 League 2022: Top 10 memes from Gujarat vs Rajasthan match

Lockie Ferguson

Fans come up with hilarious reactions after Lockie Ferguson beat Umran Malik to win the ‘fastest delivery award’ in the final