Fans come up with hilarious reactions after Lockie Ferguson beat Umran Malik to win the ‘fastest delivery award’ in the final

Lockie Ferguson bowled the fastest delivery of the Indian T20 League 2022 on Sunday in the final against Rajasthan.

Lockie Ferguson
Lockie Ferguson: (Image Source: BCCI/IPL)

Playing their first-ever season in the Indian T20 League, Gujarat surprised one and all with their impactful performances. They finished the league stage at the top of the points table with 10 wins in 14 matches. On Sunday, Gujarat beat Rajasthan by 7 wickets at Narendra Modi Stadium to lift the trophy. Hardik Pandya and Co. exhibited an all-round performance both with bat and ball.

After being asked to bowl first, Gujarat restricted Rajasthan to just 130 runs in the first innings. Hardik Pandya starred with the ball as he picked 3 for 17 runs in 4 overs. In reply, Gujarat chased down the score in 18.1 0vers. Gujarat didn’t make a great start with the bat as they had lost Saha and Wathew inside the first 5 overs.

However, the arrival of Hardik Pandya brought a sense of calm. The duo paced the partnership beautifully and added 63 runs for the third wicket. The partnership meant the match slipped out of Rajasthan’s hands. Hardik Pandya got out in the 14th over after scoring 34 runs in 30 balls. However, Gujarat didn’t lose a single wicket, thereafter, as Gill and Miller guided the team home in 18.1 overs.

Shubman Gill scored 32 runs in 19 balls, while David Miller also played an unbeaten knock of 45 runs in 43 balls. It is pertinent to note that Gujarat made one change in the playing XI for the final. Lockie Ferguson was added into the playing XI and he broke the record for the fastest delivery of the tournament.

On the final delivery of the 5th over of Rajasthan’s innings, Ferguson bowled a pin-point yorker outside the off stump to Buttler and the speed gun read 157.3 kmph. Ferguson overtook Umran Malik, who had bowled the fastest delivery of the season before the final – 157 km/hr against the Delhi Capitals.

Twitterati came up with different reactions after Ferguson pipped Umran Khan to take the award. Here’s a look at the best tweets:



‘Gujarat’- Remember the name’- fans in awe as Gujarat lift the trophy in their first-ever season

Jos Buttler

Indian T20 League 2022 Award Winners: Most runs, Most wickets, Fairplay and other award winners