Dhawan-led team India leaves for Sri Lanka

The team will be playing three ODIs and as many T20Is starting July 13

Indian squad
Indian squad ( Image Credit: BCCI/Twitter)

The Indian cricket team have left for the Sri Lanka shores for an exciting limited-overs series. The squad boast of limited-overs specialists who will be eyeing a berth in India’s T20 World Cup squad. The team will be playing three ODIs and as many T20Is starting July 13. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) shared a photo of the squad and captioned it as “ All set. Sri Lanka bound”.

Indian coach for the Sri Lanka series, Rahul Dravid yesterday highlighted that the Sri Lanka series is an opportunity for the youngsters to make a case for themselves for the T20 World Cup squad. However, he emphasized that the main focus of the team is to win the series.

“There are a lot of people in this squad who are pushing for places or looking to cement their places in the World Cup coming up, but I think the key goal of everyone in the squad and in the team…is to try and win the series,” the former India captain added.

Also read: ‘Unrealistic’ to try all players on Sri Lanka tour: Rahul Dravid – Sky247 Blog

With Virat Kohli and other senior members in England, the team will be led by Shikhar Dhawan while Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be his deputy. Talking about leading the Indian team, Dhawan said “ It’s a great honour for me to be the captain of the Indian team. I am looking forward to it. I have played under Rahul Dravid’s coaching once, I was the captain of India A at that time, we had played against Bangladesh. I feel we guys think together, we are looking forward to the series, we will be looking to build positive things and there should be a happy environment”. 

Meanwhile, India have included as many as six debutants in the squads, including Nitish Rana, all-rounder K Gowtham, opening batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad and fast bowler Chetan Sakariya among others. The series will start on July 13 with the remaining two matches to be played on 16 July and 18 July respectively. The T20Is will be played on July 21, 23 and 25. All matches are set to be played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

Follow for all the latest cricket, football, and other sports news from all parts of the world.

Rahul Dravid

‘Unrealistic’ to try all players on Sri Lanka tour: Rahul Dravid

Kapil Dev

Kapil Dev defends Team India, says reaching final is an achievement in itself