Complete schedule for India’s multi-format tour of South Africa 2023-24 announced

The Indian Cricket Board and Cricket South Africa have announced the fixtures for India's tour of South Africa in the 2023-24 season.

Updated On
New Update

IND vs SA (Source: Twitter)

The Indian Cricket Board and Cricket South Africa (CSA) have jointly announced the schedule for India's tour of South Africa in the 2023-24 season. As per the update released on Thursday (July 14), the Men in Blue will play 3 ODIs, 3 T20Is, and 2 Tests in the Rainbow Nation.


The multi-format tour kicks off with a three-match T20I series on December 10, 12 and 14. The next assignment will be a three-match ODI series - the first 50-over tournament for both nations since the conclusion of the 2023 World Cup. The two-match Boxing Day series will be India's second red-ball series in the World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 cycle.

Following the announcement of the intriguing fixtures, Indian Cricket Board secretary Jay Shah said in a media release: “The Freedom Series is significant not just because it features two excellent Test teams, but also because it honors Mahatma Gandhi and Nelson Mandela, two great leaders who shaped our respective nations and the world around them."

"The Boxing Day Test and the New Year Test are amongst the most important fixtures on the international cricket calendar and the schedule has been planned particularly around these marquee dates. India has always received strong support in South Africa, and I am confident that fans will be treated to some enthralling contests with no shortage of intensity," Shah added.


Team India last toured South Africa in 2021-22. They clashed in a three-match Test series which went in favor of the Proteas. Following India's defeat, Virat Kohli resigned as Test captain. This time India will try to take revenge under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.

India tour of South Africa 2023-24 full schedule

T20I series

1st T20I: Sunday, 10th December 2023 - Venue: Durban

2nd T20I: Tuesday, 12th December 2023 - Venue: Gqeberha

3rd T20I: Thursday, 14th December 2023 - Venue: Johannesburg


ODI series

1st ODI: Sunday, 17th December 2023 - Venue: Johannesburg

2nd ODI: Tuesday, 19th December 2023 - Venue: Gqeberha

3rd ODI: Thursday, 21st December 2023 - Venue: Paarl

Test series

1st Test: Tuesday, 26th December 2023 to Saturday, 30th December 2023 - Venue: Centurion

2nd Test: Wednesday, 3rd January 2024 to Sunday, 7th January 2024 - Venue: Cape Town

South Africa India tour of South Africa India