‘Bs yahi baaki reh gaya tha’ - Twitter reacts as India loses first bilateral series at home after 4 years with a loss against Australia in 3rd ODI

Australia have defeated India in the 3rd ODI and with it seal the ODI series by 2-1, subjecting India to a first defeat in 4 years.

New Update
Australia beats India

Australia beats India (Source - Twitter)

Australia have won the third and final ODI in Chennai by 21 runs to clinch the three-match series by 2-1 after losing the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against India. With this win, Australia became the only team to win a series in India since 2019. India lost back-to-back matches after winning the first game in Mumbai.


Batting first at the Chepauk stadium, Mitchell Marsh and Travis Head provided a great start for Australia by adding 68 runs for the first wicket in 10.5 overs. Head scored 33 off 31 while Marsh got out after scoring 47 runs off 47 balls including eight fours and a maximum.

After that, the visitors started losing wickets at regular intervals and the score was reduced to 138. Then Alex Carey (38 off 46) and Marcus Stoinis (25 off 260 put up a partnership of 58 runs for the sixth wicket. The wickets again started falling regularly and the Aussies were bowled out for 269 runs in 49 overs. Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav scalped 3-3 wickets each, while Mohammed Siraj and Axar Patel took 2-2 wickets.

Coming to chase the winning total, India got a firing start after skipper Rohit Sharma and Shubnam Gill put up an opening partnership of 65 runs in 9.1 overs. But, both openers got out after scoring 37 off 49 balls, while Rohit scored 30 runs off 17 balls. After that, Virat Kohli and KL Rahul (32 off 40) took the innings further by adding 69 runs for the third wicket. Kohli got out after a well-made fifty including 54 runs off 72 balls with two fours and a six. Suryakumar Yadav went after the third consecutive duck as he got out on the very next ball after Kohli’s wicket.


Hardik Pandya tried to take India down the line along with Ravindra Jadeja but got out in the 44th over after trying to take on Adam Zampa as Australian skipper Steve Smith took his catch. Pandya scored run-a-ball 40 runs hitting three fours and one six. Jadeja also went for 18 off 33 as India went on to get bowled out for 248 runs in 49.1 overs. For Australia, Adam Zampa scalped 4 wickets conceding 45 runs in his 10 overs. Ashton Agar took 2, while Sean Abbott and Marcus Stoinis shared a wicket each.

Here's how Twitter reacted to India's loss at the hands of Australia: 


Cricket News India Australia Twitter Reactions India vs Australia 2023 IND vs AUS