in ,

Asia Cup 2023: Winner, Runner-up, Player Of The Tournament And Complete List Of Award Winners

Shubman Gill ended Asia Cup 2023 as the highest run scorer with 302 runs.

Team India in Asia Cup 2023
Team India in Asia Cup 2023 (Image Source: Twitter)

The Asia Cup 2023 came to an end on 17 September when Team India defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets at the R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. It was a thrashing victory as Rohit Sharma and his men bundled out the Lankans for just 50 runs. In reply, they chased down the target in 6.1 overs and Mohammed Siraj won the Player of the Match award for his six-wicket haul.        

Here is the complete list  of award winners in the Asia Cup 2023

Winner – India

The Men in Blue won the tournament by thrashing Sri Lanka by 10 wickets and bagged their 8th Asia Cup title. Speaking of their journey to the final, in the group stage, their clash with Pakistan was called off due to rain and then, they defeated Nepal. Then, in the ‘Super 4’ stage, they registered victories over Pakistan and Sri Lanka while they lost to Bangladesh. But, it was enough for them to qualify for the final. For winning the tournament, they were awarded with a sum of around USD 200,000 (INR 1.65 crore).  

Runner-up – Sri Lanka

The Lankans won the 2022 Asia Cup. But, in this edition, they had a terrible day in the final and lost to India. Speaking about their journey to the final, in the group stage, they defeated Bangladesh and Afghanistan respectively. Then, in the ‘Super 4’ stage, they won against the Bangla Tigers but suffered a loss against India. After that, they won against Pakistan and qualified for the final. As they finished runner-up, the Lankans were awarded with a sum of around USD 100,000 (INR 82 lakhs).

Player of the Tournament – Kuldeep Yadav (India)

Star Team India spinner, Kuldeep Yadav was named the Player of the Tournament for taking 9 wickets in four innings, including a fifer against Pakistan. During the post-match presentation, he said: “The last year and a half has been amazing, I’m enjoying my bowling. [T20 and ODI difference] In T20 format just focus on the length and not on the wickets, but in ODIs you can vary your length and try a lot more different things. Been working on my speed and angles with my coach after my injury. More aggressive and it’s coming very nicely. When the fast bowlers bowl like that it’s very easy for a spinner to come and bowl.” 

Other awards

Watches were given to all players and staff as head coaches (Sri Lanka – Chris Silverwood, India – Rahul Dravid) of both teams received those on behalf of the team. A cheque of USD 50,000 was awarded to the Sri Lanka ground staff for their outstanding work throughout the tournament. The National curator Godfrey Dabrare picked up the award.

Mohammed Siraj vs SL, Asia Cup 2023 Final

‘Tarriff ke liye upyogya’ – Fans laud Mohammed Siraj for dedicating his Player Of The Match award and cash prize to Sri Lanka’s groundstaff after Asia Cup 2023 final

Ishan Kishan after Asia Cup 2023 final

WATCH: Ishan Kishan mimics Virat Kohli’s walking style after Asia Cup 2023 triumph