‘Aapse better ummed kiye the hum!’ – Memes rain on Twitter as Australia suffer a humiliating loss against India in Nagpur

Ravindra Jadeja won the player of the match award for his performance in the Nagpur pitch.

India vs Australia, 1st Test
India vs Australia, 1st Test (Image Source: Twitter)

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy began on 9 February 2023 in Nagpur. India took on Australia in the series opener. Pat Cummins won the toss and opted to bat first. For the Aussies, Todd Murphy made his debut while team India gave debut caps to Suryakumar Yadav and Srikar Bharat. 

So, Australian fans were hoping for a better performance from the batters. David Warner and Usman Khawaja came out to open the innings. But, Indian pacers were on a roll as Australia lost their openers for two runs. Mohammed Siraj took the wicket of Khawaja while Shami managed to grab the wicket of Warner.

Australia suffered a humiliating loss at the hands of India in the first Test

Then, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Alex Carey, and Peter Handscomb made some contributions. Thus, they got bundled out for just 177 runs in 63.5 overs. Labuschagne was the highest run-scorer with 49 runs off 123 balls. For India, Ravindra Jadeja took five wickets, Ashwin grabbed three wickets while both Siraj and Shami managed one wicket each. In reply, the Men in Blue scored 400 runs in 139.3 overs. Skipper Rohit Sharma was the highest run-scorer with 120 runs off 212 balls. Along with him, Jadeja and Axar Patel came up with some terrific contributions. However, for the visitors, debutant Todd Murphy was the star of the show.

He took seven wickets for 124 runs in 47 overs. Then, Australia came out for their second innings with a trail of 223 runs. But, Indian bowlers steamrolled them as they got bundled out for just 91 runs in 32.3 overs. Only Steve Smith remained not out on 25 runs off 51 balls, including two fours and one six. Ravichandran Ashwin was the star of the show for India with his fifer. Along with him, both Jadeja and Shami took two wickets each along with one wicket from Axar Patel. Thus, India registered a victory over the Aussies by an inning and 132 runs. Ravindra Jadeja won the player of the match award for his all-around contribution to India. 

Here are some viral memes regarding the first Test between India and Australia:


India vs Australia, 1st Test

‘Rula diya na Kangaroos ko!’ – Fans go berserk as India register victory by an innings and 132 runs over Australia in Nagpur Test

Rohit Sharma

‘Typical Mumbai bantai’ – Fans react to the viral video of Rohit Sharma’s outburst at Broadcasters during Nagpur Test