India’s 15-Man Squad for ODI World Cup 2023 Announced

India last won the ODI World Cup in 2011.

Team India
Team India (Source: Twitter)

India’s World Cup squad will be announced on 5 October 2023. Rohit Sharma and his band of merry men will be selected for the World Cup in India. The games will be hosted around the country in 10 venues. India will be the sole host of the World Cup for the first time after being co-hosted on three occasions in 1987, 1996 and 2011.

When we talk about India’s squad, most of the 15 Members select themselves. Barring a couple of surprise inclusions. The left-hander Tilak Varma could not make the cut for the World Cup squad as the left-hander was included in the Asia Cup. Ishan Kishan has also made a strong case for himself as a middle-order batter after he scored a sizzling 82 in India’s first Asia Cup game against Pakistan.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj will be the frontline pacers for India

When it comes to bowling, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj would be the frontline pacers along with Jasprit Bumrah. The Spin department will comprise of Kuldeep Yadav who has cemented his place in the ODI side with his recent performances. Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja will make the cut as they will provide left-arm spin options with the ability to bat left-handed in the lower-middle order.

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer and Hardik Pandya will walk into the side. Shardul Thakur was also selected as a backup all-round option. He can bowl a full quota of 10 overs if required and also bat lower down the order. The bone of contention for the Men in Blue has been number four. Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul also make it to the side.

This is the first time that Rohit will be leading India in a World Cup. The Mumbaikar did not make it to the 2011 World Cup squad. The Men in Blue will be hoping that Rohit and Kohli will hit prime form come the 2023 World Cup. They will hope to help India repeat history like they did in 2011.

India’s World Cup squad for 2023 is as follows :

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav

Check Here: Top stories that made news in the Sports world today – 5 September 2023

Kane Williamson

‘Time to rule India’s streets’ – Fans react as reports indicate Kane Williamson to be back for ODI World Cup 2023

India and Nepal

WATCH: Nepal players given grand felicitation by Indian team for putting up a great show in their Asia Cup clash