Qualification scenarios of teams for Champions Trophy 2025

Cricket: Qualification scenarios of teams for Champions Trophy 2025 seems interesting as four teams are competing for two spots that are up for grabs in Pakistan 2025.

New Update
Champions Trophy 2025

Champions Trophy

With the ongoing ODI World Cup 2023 coming towards the end of its league stage, teams are gearing up for the remainder of the tournament. Three teams have already qualified for the semifinal of the tournament. India, Australia, and South Africa will be playing in the semifinal. Just one team can now qualify for the fourth semifinal spot. For that, three teams are eligible at the moment. 


Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan are all competing for one spot in the semis. Australia is almost confirmed to take on South Africa in the semifinal. The last semifinalist is set to take on India in the semifinal. But all the teams that are in the race for a spot in the semifinal, have qualified for the Champions Trophy 2025. The top 7 teams apart from Pakistan are set to qualify for the tournament. 

In 2025, the ChampionsTrophy will be played in Pakistan. Hence, apart from the hosts, 7 other teams topping the points table of the ODI World Cup 2023 will qualify for the tournament. India, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and hosts Pakistan have qualified for the event already. Two teams are yet to qualify for the tournament. Four teams are in contention for it. 

Which teams will qualify for the tournament?


England will face Pakistan in their last league-stage match. Pakistan will be eyeing a spot in the semifinal of the ODI World Cup 2023. England would like to beat Pakistan by a huge margin and hope Bangladesh and Netherlands lose their last matches. Bangladesh would be expecting to see the Netherlands lose their last match and ensure a better net run rate than Sri Lanka towards the end. 

The Netherlands have to beat India in their last group stage match. To qualify for the Champions Trophy 2025, the Netherlands must beat India by a huge margin. Sri Lanka has already ended their tournament by losing their last match to New Zealand. They will be hoping for England, Netherlands, and Bangladesh to lose their last matches by a huge margin. 

Bangladesh England Netherlands Sri Lanka