'Title khareed lete ho toh easy hee hota hai' - Fans react as Manchester City defend Premier League crown with Arsenal's loss to Nottingham Forest

Manchester City won the Premier League 2022-23 title following Arsenal 1-0 away defeat at Nottingham Forest. Here's more.

New Update
Manchester City win Premier League

Manchester City win Premier League (Source: Twitter)

Following Arsenal's 1-0 loss away to Nottingham Forest on Saturday, Manchester City has been declared Premier League champions, putting Pep Guardiola's team one step closer to completing a spectacular treble.


The FA Cup final versus United at Wembley on June 3 and the Champions League final against Inter Milan in Istanbul on June 10 are the last two finals before City becomes the first English team to win the treble since Sir Alex Ferguson's Manchester United in 1999.

With just one game left, Mikel Arteta's team is still four points behind City in the Premier League fight due to Arsenal's outcome. City will play their upcoming match against Chelsea at the Etihad Stadium on Sunday.

'Quality and consistency is what Manchester City stand for' – Ilkay Gundogan


Five out of the last six seasons have seen the club win the Premier League. This year's victory marks the club's ninth top-flight championship overall, and it's seventh since Abu Dhabi's City Football Group acquired ownership of the team in 2008.

Ilkay Gundogan, the club captain, called the most recent victory "very special." "The Premier League is, without doubt, the most demanding and competitive league in the world, so that tells you everything about what an achievement this is," he said. "This squad is so talented and so special, and to have been captain this season has been an enormous privilege. To have won this trophy three times in a row and five times in six years is incredible. That quality and consistency helps sum up what Manchester City stand for and ensures the club will continue to strive for success going forward."

Erling Haaland's record-breaking scoring helped Pep Guardiola's team start the season strong. In addition to defeating Arsenal twice, City also started an 11-game winning streak that is still going now, which has enabled them to win the league for a third straight year.


Haaland was named the male FWA Footballer of the Year after scoring a Premier League single-season record of 36 goals. Since 2008, City has also won five League Cup medals and two FA Cup championships.

Here's how fans reacted:

IPL featured Indian Premier League Twitter Reactions