‘Flash se bhi zyada tezz’ – Fans abuzz as Ilkay Gundogan puts Manchester City ahead at 12 seconds vs Manchester United in FA Cup final

Manchester City and Manchester United are the two finalists of Emirates FA Cup 2022-23

Ilkay Gundogan, Manchester City
Ilkay Gundogan, Manchester City (Source: Twitter)

Ilkay Gundogan of Manchester City made history against Manchester United in the FA Cup final on Sunday at Wembley. On Saturday, Ilkay Gundogan scored the fastest goal ever in an FA Cup final to give Manchester City an early lead. After only 12 seconds, the midfielder fired past Manchester United custodian David de Gea from outside the box. That City skipper smashed a record that had stood for 14 years. Bruno Fernandes converted a penalty in the 33rd minute that put the scores level.

Erling Haaland nodded on Stefan Ortega’s long pass after the ball made it’s way back to the custodian. Gundogan was set up by a collision between City playmaker Kevin De Bruyne and United defender Victor Lindelof, and he hammered it towards goal, leaving De Gea with no choice but to watch as it went into the goal.

Ilkay Gundogan’s goal is not the fastest goal of the FA Cup history

Since they have already won the Premier League championship and will face Inter in the Champions League final the following weekend, City is aiming to complete the treble. Naturally, United is the only English team to have won the Premier League, the FA Cup, and the Champions League all in the same year (1999). Before focusing on Inter, they will want to maintain their lead and win the FA Cup for the eighth time.

While Ilkay Gundogan’s goal in the 2023 FA Cup final, which came after 12 seconds, was by far the fastest of any championship game in the tournament, it wasn’t quite quick enough to be the fastest goal in the competition’s history.

Jimmy Kebe of Reading versus West Brom scored the quickest goal in FA Cup history after only 9 seconds in a 2009 fifth-round game that finished in a 2-2 draw and necessitated a replay. Right after kickoff, a shoddy back throw led to the goal. The official quickest goal in the competition is that one.

Here’s how fans reacted:

Matheesha Pathirana, CSK

‘Patthar phekega Ruturaj tumpe’ – Fans react as Matheesha Pathirana and Utkarsha Pawar seen doing the Cristiano Ronaldo celebration after CSK’s IPL triumph

LSG's Naveen-ul-Haq in action in T20 Blast 2023

‘Iss khushi mein 2 aam kha lein’ – Fans react as LSG laud Naveen-ul-Haq for hitting 3 sixes for Leicestershire in T20 Blast 2023