WTC 2021-23: Home and Away Series list of all top 9 Test teams

Like the inaugural edition, all teams will play three home and three away series in this WTC cycle as well.

BJ Watling
BJ Watling ( Image Credit: Twitter)

New Zealand were crowned the Test Champions last week after they beat India in the inaugural WTC Final played in Southampton. It also marked the end of the WTC Cycle 2019-21. The upcoming five-match Test series between England and India will now mark the beginning of the second cycle which will be played from August 2021 to June 2023.

ICC is yet to finalize the venue and schedule for the Final. Persistent rain in England during the final had opened up a debate over ICC’s venue selection again. However, reserve day was enough for New Zealand to force the result.

The new WTC cycle will once again see the top nine Test teams playing a total of six series – three home and three away – over the course of two years. These bilateral series have been finalized by the cricket boards in 2018 itself after which ICC included them in the 2019-23 Future Tour Programs according to ESPNCricinfo.

India and England will kick off their WTC campaign with the Test series starting on August 4. Going forward, the Virat Kohli-led side will have two more overseas tours to South Africa and Bangladesh in this WTC cycle while they are slated to host the defending champions New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Australia at home.

Apart from India, England will host New Zealand and South Africa and travel to Australia, West Indies and Pakistan in away series assignments. Australia, who were denied a place in the final due to poor over-rate, will play Ashes at home and also play hosts to West Indies and South Africa. They have all-Asia away assignments this time around as they will fly to India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

The Test Champions New Zealand will face Bangladesh, South Africa and Sri Lanka at home and then challenge India, England and Pakistan in their own den to defend the mace.

Here’s the detailed list of each team’s home and away series during WTC Cycle 2021-23:

Team Home Series Away Series
Pakistan AUS, NZ, ENG WI, BAN, SL
Australia ENG, WI, SA PAK, SL, IND
England IND, NZ, SA AUS, WI, PAK
New Zealand BAN, SA, SL IND, ENG, PAK
South Africa IND, BAN, WI NZ, ENG, AUS
West Indies PAK, ENG, BAN SA, SL, AUS
Bangladesh PAK, SL, IND NZ, SA, WI
Jhulan Goswami

Jhulan Goswami backs Indian pacers to come good in 2nd ODI against England women

Chris Lynn resigns as Brisbane Heat captain ahead of new BBL season