WATCH: SA20 2023 – Spinner Waqar Salamkheil cleans up Faf du Plessis with a stunning delivery

Joburg Super Kings won the match by seven wickets courtesy to the brilliant performances from the bowling line up.

Faf du Plessis

MI Cape Town and Joburg Super Kings locked horns in the seventh match of the SA20 2023 at the Newlands Stadium in Cape Town.  MICT skipper Rashid Khan won the flip of the coin and asked the Super Kings to bat first at the tricky surface of Newlands Stadium.

Joburg Super Kings struggled a lot against the bowling attack of MI Cape Town as they kept losing their wickets at regular intervals. Leus du Plooy was the only batter to cross the 20-run mark for the visitors as he scored 21 runs with a boundary.

Apart from that, Super Kings got a big blow when skipper Faf du Plessis went completely clueless against opponent spinner Waqar Salamkheil. The latter spun the web and completely trapped the Proteas veteran and left him clueless on the fourth ball of the eighth over in the first innings.

The video of this amazing spin excellence by Salamkheil is making rounds on social media within minutes of being shared:

Here’s the video:

Speaking of the match, Joburg Super Kings could score only 105 runs for the loss of nine wickets in the allotted 20 overs. George Linde, Rashid Khan, Kagiso Rabada, and Odean Smith scalped two wickets each alongside Waqar Salamkheil’s one wicket.

While chasing the target, the young South African batting prodigy Dewald Brevis played a crucial knock of 42 runs off 34 balls with two boundaries and three sixes to his name. Alongside Brevis, Ryan Rickelton also played a knock of 21 runs with two boundaries. Riding on these brilliant knocks, MI Cape Town chased down the target in 16.2 overs by scoring 107 runs for the loss of three wickets.

Eventually, Rashid Khan’s men won the match by seven wickets and senior pacer Kagiso Rabada won the ‘player of the match award for his brilliant and economical bowling. He conceded only 12 runs in his quota of four overs and scalped two wickets in his spell.

Pakistan vs New Zealand

‘Ye speed kya bank me jama karaani hai?’ – Ex-PAK skipper lashes out at Pakistan bowlers after losing series against New Zealand

India vs New Zealand

IND vs NZ: 5 Indian players who are in Sri Lanka series but not picked for ODIs against New Zealand