Vriitya Aravind leads Sharjah Bukhatir XI to the Emirates D10 title

Chiragh Suri and Alishan Sharafu put on a 98 run stand to lift Fujairah Pacific Ventures to 123-3 in their 10 overs

A magnificent knock by Vriitya Aravind helped Sharjah Bukhatir XI clinch the 2021 edition of the Emirates D 10 league.  Aravind stroked a blistering 66 off 27 balls, including 10 fours and 2 sixes as Sharjah made mockery of the target, winning the game with 8 wickets to spare. Aravind along with Fayyaz Ahmed (32 off 14) stitched a 69 run partnership for the first wicket in 4.4 overs to set up the win.

Earlier, a top-class knock of 71 off 25 balls by Chirag Suri helped Fujairah to post a decent 123 in their 10 overs. Fujairah was expecting a good start from their in-form batsman, Waseem Muhammad, but he was dismissed for 7 off 4 balls. Usman Khan was another batsman who did well in the league matches but he too failed to make a mark when it mattered the most. Yasir Kaleem’s departure for 5 left Fujairah in deep trouble, tottering at 25-3.

However, what followed the collapse was a brilliant partnership between Chiragh Suri and Alishan Sharafu. Suri looked in destructive form and torn apart the Sharjah bowlers. Alishan, on the other hand, played the second fiddle and focused on giving the strike to Chiragh Suri. The pair put on an unbroken 98 run stand to lift Fujairah Pacific Ventures to 123-3 in their 10 overs. For Sharjah, Junaid Siddique was the pick of the bowlers and returned with figures of 2-15 in his 2 overs.

The match was a repeat of the D20 final that was played in December last year, in which Sharjah Bukhatir XI defeated Fujairah Pacific Ventures despite the latter dominating in the league stages.

Mustafizur Rahman lands in India to play IPL 2021; shares a beautiful message after joining Rajasthan Royals’ camp

Sarah Taylor comes out of retirement to play in ‘The Hundred’