AT 120-5 in the 25th over, chasing 342, the game was done and dusted for Pakistan. The destructive Fakhar Zaman was still out there but the situation looked beyond repairable. However, Zaman played one of the most dominating innings of recent time and helped Pakistan claw back into the match. Pakistan needed 38 off the last 12 balls and the kind of form Zaman was in, this wasn’t impossible. However, Phehlukwayo gave just 7 runs in the penultimate over to leave 31 for Ngidi to defend.
The match was done by then but Zaman was nearing a historic milestone. However, the southpaw was controversially run out, 7 short of a well deserved double hundred. South Africa wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock foxed Zaman and portrayed as if the ball was going to the bowler’s end which made Zaman look back and a direct hit from Aiden Markram caught him short.
The Marylebone Cricket Club has now given its opinion on the same. The club said that it was up to the umpires to take a call whether the fielder tried to distract the batsman or not. They also tweeted a rule relating to the Zaman’s incident. The law states that it is unfair for the fielder to distract the batsman once the striker has received the ball. They, however, clarified that it will be up to the umpires to decide if the fielder attempted to distract the batsman or not.
The Law is clear, with the offence being an ATTEMPT to deceive, rather than the batsman actually being deceived.
It’s up to the umpires to decide if there was such an attempt. If so, then it's Not out, 5 Penalty runs + the 2 they ran, and batsmen choose who faces next ball.
— Marylebone Cricket Club (@MCCOfficial) April 4, 2021
Despite missing out on a well deserved double hundred, Fakhar Zaman shielded De Kock from criticism and said that it was his fault to look back to check at the non-striker.
“The fault was mine, as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end, as I felt he started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault.”