Top 5 Individual Scores in IPL History

Check out which batter holds the highest individual score record in IPL from Chris Gayle, KL Rahul To David Warner.

Sky247 Staff
New Update
Chris Gayle

Scoring a century in T20 cricket has to be one of the toughest tasks in the game. With only 120 balls to face, the batsmen need to be at their devastating best to reach the triple-digit mark. Unsurprisingly, one does not see T20 centuries on a regular basis. At the same time, the modern batsmen are so skilled that they do have the ability to score at a great pace. While T20 centuries do not happen on a regular basis, they are not rare either. And as if scoring a century is not enough, some batsmen have gone on to score big tons in T20s.


Look at the top 5 highest individual scores in an IPL innings:

5. AB de Villiers - 129*(52) vs Gujarat Lions:

At number five in this list is Royal Challengers Bangalore star AB de Villiers for his knock of 129 against the now-defunct Gujarat Lions in IPL 2016. RCB needed a victory in the game against top of the table Gujarat Lions to keep their playoff hopes alive. And de Villiers rose to the occasion. He as well as RCB skipper Virat Kohli scored centuries and shared a record breaking 229-run partnership to power their team to a thumping 144-run win. De Villiers was at his devastating best, slamming an unbeaten 129 off just  52 balls with the help of 10 fours and 12 sixes. RCB scored 248 for 3 before bowling out the opposition for just 104.


4. KL Rahul - 132*(69) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

At number four in this list is Punjab Kings' skipper KL Rahul for his unbeaten knock of 132 against Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2020. Rahul's stunning knock helped Punjab thrash RCB by 97 runs. The Punjab-based outfit had scored 206 for 3 before bowling out the Bangalore-based outfit for just 109. Rahul's knock was laced with 14 boundaries and seven sixes. The knock helped him surpass Rishabh Pant (128 in 2018) to post the highest individual score by an Indian and a captain in IPL history.

3. AB de Villiers - 133*(59) vs Mumbai Indians


AB de Villiers features in this list once again and this time for his unbeaten knock of 133 against Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium in IPL 2015. Batting first, RCB were off to a poor start as Chris Gayle was out for just 13. But that was the last time Mumbai celebrated on the field that day as de Villiers and Virat Kohli took their bowlers to the cleaners. De Villiers' 360 degree stroke-play was on full display as he scored an unbeaten 133 with the help of 19 boundaries and four sixes. He shared an unbeaten stand of 215 runs with Kohli to power RCB to 235 for 1. In reply, Mumbai Indians scored 196 for 7.

2. Brendon McCullum -158*(73) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore:

At number two in this list is former Kolkata Knight Riders opener Brendon McCullum for his knock of 158 not out against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the very first-ever game of IPL in 2008. There were some apprehensions regarding the IPL in the cricketing fraternity but McCullum's knock put them to bed. The New Zealand star came out all guns blazing and slammed 158 off just 73 balls to help KKR score 222 for 3. He struck 10 fours and 13 sixes during his knock. In reply, RCB could not even get past McCullum's score and were all out for just 82.

1. Chris Gayle - 175*(66) vs Pune Warriors India

The most decorated batsman in the history of T20 cricket, Chris Gayle is at number one in this list for his monumental knock of 175 not out for RCB against now-defunct Pune Warriors India in IPL 2013. No other batsman has come even close to breaking his record in IPL. Gayle completed his century in just 30 balls with a six off Ashok Dinda and went on to score 175 to power RCB to a record 263 for 5. In reply, Pune Warriors India could only manage 133 for 9 in their allotted 20 overs.

India IPL 2023