Top 5 facts from India's Test win at the Gabba

Top 5 facts: Check out the 5 important stats from India’s Test victory at The Gabba. The Indian cricket team recorded its 2nd consecutive Test series win in Australia.

Miguel Prazeres
New Update
India wins at Gabba, 2020 Border Gavaskar Trophy

Team India (Image Source: Twitter)

India did the unthinkable and defeated Australia down under to win the 2020 Border-Gavaskar Trophy. The Indian side successfully managed to retain the trophy after defeating Australia 2-1. The visitors were certainly not the favorites going into the 1st Test. After a heavy defeat, many believed that India could expose itself to a 4-0 whitewash. However, the "Men in Blue" shrugged all the criticism and bounced back, winning the coveted Test series. The relatively young Indian side also created several records in the process.


Here are 5 stats from India’s Test victory at the Gabba:

5. India's maiden Test win at the Gabba

The "Men in Blue" never won a Test match at the Gabba before. India played 6 Tests on this ground. 5 of them resulted in a loss, while one resulted in a draw. Moreover, no side managed to win a Test at the Gabba against Australia since 1976. Rishabh Pant sealed the deal in the 4th Test, resulting in India’s 2-1 victory to secure the 2020 Border-Gavaskar Trophy.


4. Australia's first Gabba defeat since 1988

The "Men in Yellow" haven’t lost a single Test in the Gabba this century. West Indies was the last team to beat the Aussies at the Gabba. Prior to that, every nation either lost or drew a Test against Australia at the Gabba. Australia headed to Brisbane on top of a 7-match winning streak at the Gabba. However, it was finally broken by the "Men in Blue" in the 4th Test of the 2020 Border Gavaskar Trophy.

3. India's 3rd Border Gavaskar Trophy win


With India’s recent Test triumph, they have now successfully registered a hat-trick of Border Gavaskar trophy wins. The first-ever Border-Gavaskar trophy was back in 1996.

2. Rishabh Pant is the 1st Indian wicketkeeper with three 50+ scores down under

With his innings of 89 on the last day of the 4th Test, Pant wrote his name in the history books. He is now the only Indian player to register three 50+ scores on Australian soil. The record was held by Syed Kirmani, with 2 fifties under his name.

1. Cheteshwar Pujara becomes the first Indian to face 200+ balls in Australia in more than 5 innings

The record was held by Virat Kohli, who achieved this feat 5 times. Pujara has now dethroned Kohli from this feat.

Read more Cricket articles here!

International World Test Championship (2021-23)