Three uncapped players named in Zimbabwe’s squad for the T20I series against Pakistan

Luke Jongwe, who last represented them in 2016, has also been named in the squad.

After a scintillating show in South Africa, Pakistan head to Zimbabwe for a three T20I and two Tests series. In their home conditions, Zimbabwe can be a stiff opposition, especially in the T20Is. It’s a very important series for Pakistan as a hiccup in Zimbabwe ahead of the World T20 will be a massive setback. However, at the moment, the visitors will start the series as favourites. The last time these two teams met in a T20I series, Pakistan annihilated Zimbabwe by a 3-0 margin.

The hosts have named three uncapped players – batsman Tadiwanashe Marumani, pacer Tanaka Chivanga and spinner Tapiwa Mufudza for the T20I series against Pakistan. Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine also make a comeback in the squad after missing out in Zimbabwe’s last series against Afghanistan in UAE. Zimbabwe has also added Luke Jongwe, who last represented them in 2016, to their squad. Sikandar Raza is struggling with an upper arm injury thus won’t be part of the series.

Richmond Mutumbami, Milton Shumba, Brandon Mavuta, Tarisai Musakanda and Faraz Akram are some of the key players to miss out. Musakanda, however, has been named as a standby alongside Ainsley Ndlovu and Bradley Evans. The T20I series kicks off on April 21 at the Harare Sports Club. Owing to the pandemic, all the matches will be played behind closed doors. 

Full squad: Williams Sean (c), Burl Ryan, Chakabva Regis, Chivanga Tanaka, Ervine Craig, Jongwe Luke, Kamunhukamwe Tinashe, Madhevere Wessly, Marumani Tadiwanashe, Masakadza Wellington, Mufudza Tapiwa, Muzarabani Blessing, Ngarava Richard, Taylor Brendan, Tiripano Donald


MI hand SRH their third consecutive loss in IPL 2021

IPL 2021: Delhi Capitals vs Punjab Kings – Game 11 – Match Preview