The Hundred: Ellyse Perry the latest to withdraw from the tournament

She was set to represent Birmingham Phoenix.

Ellyse Perry
Ellyse Perry (Photo: Twitter)

Australia’s star all-rounder Ellyse Perry is the latest one to pull out of the inaugural edition of The Hundred. She was set to represent Birmingham Phoenix but has withdrawn from the tournament citing personal reasons.

With Sophie Devine pulling out a few days ago from the tournament, Perry’s exit will further dent the Phoenix team. Notably, Devine had decided to opt out of the tournament to focus on her international assignments and be especially preparing for the ICC Women’s World Cup, scheduled in February next year.

“We are obviously very disappointed that Ellyse Perry has had to withdraw from the Hundred due to personal circumstances, but we completely understand her decision and wish her all the best,” Beth Barrett-Wild, head of the women’s competition, said. Meanwhile, reports suggest that Phoenix are in line to rope in India’s star youngster Shafali Verma as Devine’s replacement.

Meanwhile, apart from Perry, Alyssa Healy, Meg Lanning and Rachael Haynes have also withdrawn from the Hundred, before Australia’s multi-format series against India. Further, many notable male players, including the likes of David Warner, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Williamson and Kagiso Rabada have also decided to give the 100-ball tournament a miss.

The tournament gets underway from July 21 and will run until August 21. The Hundred was earlier scheduled to be hosted last year, but the Covid-19 pandemic led to its postponement. The tournament is certain to go on this time around, however, some bilateral series timed in the same duration and Covid-19 restrictions means that a host of players will be unavailable for all the teams.

Rashid Khan

I have been working a lot on my batting, hopefully will take the number four position in Afghanistan batting line-up: Rashid Khan

KL Rahul-Rohit Sharma

Brad Hogg selects India’s ideal T20 World Cup XI, Kohli – Rohit to open