T10 League 2021 – Day 3: Round Up

Nicholas Pooran
Northern Warriors v Delhi Bulls. Abu Dhabi T10 Season 4. Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi. 30th January 2021. #NWvDB #AbuDhabiT10 #inAbuDhabi

On the penultimate day (January 30) of the group league games in the ongoing Abu Dhabi T10 League, a total of six teams were in action. In the first game of the day, Bangla Tigers locked horns against Maratha Arabians. It was followed by the match between Team Abu Dhabi and Qalandars before Northern Warriors and Delhi Bulls fought it out in the final game of the day.

Here is a roundup of day three of Abu Dhabi T10 League:

Bangla Tigers vs Maratha Arabians:

Bangla Tigers beat Maratha Arabians by six wickets to register their first win of the tournament. Asked to bat first, the Arabians posted 103 for 0 in their allotted 10 overs with their openers Mohammad Hafeez and Abdul Shakoor starring with the bat. However, the score did not turn out to be enough as the Tigers chased it down in just eight overs to hand the Arabians their second consecutive defeat.

Brief scores:

Maratha Arabians 103 for 0 (Mohammad Hafeez 61*, Abdul Shakoor 34*) lost to Bengal Tigers 105 for 4 (Andre Fletcher 31, Johnson Charles 23; Muktar Ali 1-13) by six wickets.

Team Abu Dhabi vs Qalandars:

Shahid Afridi put up a Man of the Match performance with the ball as Qalandars thrashed Team Abu Dhabi by nine wickets to register their second consecutive win. Bowling first, the Qalandars restricted Team Abu Dhabi to 100 for 5 with Afridi picking up two wickets while giving away 16 runs. With the bat, the Qalandars chased down the total in 8.2 overs while losing just one wicket. Sharjil Khan and Sohail Akhtar put up an unbeaten stand of 64 runs for the second wicket to take their team home.

Brief scores:

Team Abu Dhabi 100 for 5 (Joe Clarke 34, Paul Stirling 29; Shahid Afridi 2-16) lost to Qalandars 104 for 1 (Sharjeel Khan 40*, Tom Banton 30; Naveen-ul-Haq 1-19) by nine wickets.

Northern Warriors vs Delhi Bulls:

In the third and last game of the day, Northern Warriors beat Delhi Bulls by 32 runs to register their first win of the competition and end the latter’s winning start. Asked to bat first, the Warriors posted a huge total of 137 for 3 in their allotted 10 overs. Captain Nicholas Pooran starred with the bat, slamming 54 off just 21 balls before Rovman Powell (24* off 8) and Fabian Allen (28* off 10) provided the finishing touches. In reply, the Bulls ended their innings on 105 for 7 with Wayne Parnell picking up a hat-trick.

Brief scores:

Northern Warriors 137 for 3 (Nicholas Pooran 54, Fabian Allen 28*; Waqas Maqsood 1-1) beat Delhi Bulls 105 for 7 (Ravi Bopara 36; Wayne Parnell 3-15 ) by 32 runs.

Imtiaz Ahmed

All you need to know about Deccan Gladiators pacer Imtiaz Ahmed

Mitchell Marsh

Mitchell Marsh fined for showing dissent at umpire’s decision