‘Superstar of the night’: Deandra Dottin’s all-round performance takes SN Women to their third title win in the Women’s T20 Challenge

SN women defeated VL Women in the final of Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 to win their third title in the history of the tournament.

Deandra Dottin
Deandra Dottin (Image Source: BCCI/IPL)

The final of the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 took place between the SN Women and the VL Women at the MCA Stadium in Pune. For a final of a tournament, the match turned out to be a very one-sided affair.

VL Women won the toss and the skipper Deepti Sharma decided to field first. SN Women started on a great note as the openers Priya Punia and Deandra Dottin threw caution to the win at the start of the innings. The duo stitched a partnership of 73 runs in 9.3 overs before Punia (28 of 29) was dismissed by Simran Bahadur. Dottin however continued with her exploits and was joined by Harmapreet Kaur. Dottin played an explosive knock of 62 runs off 44 deliveries before being dismissed in the 15th over of the innings. Kaur also did not last long after that. She was sent back to the pavilion in the 18th over after she played a knock of 43 runs from 29 deliveries. As the match progressed batting got tougher with the pitch getting slower. The other batters did not impact the scoreboard much. They posted a respectable total of 165 runs from their 20 overs.

VL Women started their chase with a blaze. They were scoring at a great rate as they achieved 29 runs in just two overs. The first wicket to fall for the VL Women was Shafali Verma (15 of 8) in the third over. After this VL Women totally lost the plot and went totally off track. They were reduced to 64 for 5 by the end of the 11th over. Laura Wolvaardt ( 65 of 40) however decided not to go down without a fight. But the target proved too much for her even after being aided by a brilliant little cameo by Simran Bahadur ( 20 of 10). VL Women ultimately scored  161 and lost the match by 4 runs. With this victory SN Women won their third title, the most by any team in the history of the tournament.

Here is how Twitter reacted to the match.

Dinesh Karthik

Dinesh Karthik apologises to Bangalore fans after the team lost to Rajasthan

Watch: Real Madrid fans abuse Kylian Mbappe before UEFA Champions League Final