Sri Lanka announce squad for the two Test series against West Indies

Sky247 Staff
New Update
Dimuth Karunaratne

Sri Lanka has named the 17 man squad for the upcoming two Test series against West Indies starting from March 21. Dimuth Karunaratne, who missed Sri Lanka’s last series against England, is back as the skipper of the team. Dhananjaya de Silva will also mark his return in the Sri Lanka test team after missing the England series due to a thigh strain.


Pathum Nissanka, who’s currently part of the T20 squad has also earned a maiden call to represent Sri Lanka in whites. The 22 year old is one of the most promising talents in Sri Lanka’s domestic circuit and averages 67.54. Sri Lanka cricket announced that Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya De Silva, Roshen Silva, Vishwa Fernando and Lasith Embuldeniya will leave for West Indies on March 7th.

The two-match series will be part of the World Test Championship that’ll see India and New Zealand facing each other in the summit clash in June. Sri Lanka are placed 8th in the points table while West Indies are settled at 6th after an emphatic series win against Bangladesh in Bangladesh.  

Sri Lanka have a great record against West Indies in Test, winning 9 and losing 4 matches. Seven matches have ended in a draw. In the Carribean, both teams have met 9 times with West Indies winning 4 and Sri Lanka winning 2 games. Three matches ended in a draw. 

Sri Lanka squad for the West Indies Tests series - Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Dasun Shanaka, Pathum Nissanka, Oshada Fernando, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Roshen Silva, Dhananjaya De Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Vishwa Fernando, Suranga Lakmal, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Lasith Embuldeniya

Cricket News International