Sri Lanka announce 25-member squad for India series

Dasun Shanaka will lead Sri Lanka against India while Dhananjaya de Silva will be his deputy

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka ( Image Credit: Twitter)

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) have announced a 25-member squad, pending approval by the Sports Minister, for the India series. The team will be led by Dasun Shanaka while Dhananjaya de Silva will be his deputy. Sri Lanka dropped batsman Oshada Fernando and fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep while added Lahiru Udara, Lahiru Kumara, Ashen Bandara, Kasun Rajitha, and Bhanuka Rajapaksa to the squad.

Dasun Shanaka has been impressive in recent times and was one of the few positives from a rather miserable England tour. The all-rounder scored 96 and 65 runs in 3 ODIs and as many T20Is respectively. Earlier, Shanaka was included in the Sri Lanka squad for the West Indies series but could not make the tour due to a Visa delay.

Also read: Mahela Jayawardene set to join Sri Lanka U-19 side as consultant – Sky247 Blog

Meanwhile, Dhananjaya de Silva is a useful all-rounder and is the only cricketer who has grabbed an A category contract from SLC. De Silva played a fighting knock of 91 in the second ODI between England and Sri Lanka.

It’s an important series for Sri Lanka as it will help them in finalizing the squad for the T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka has been on a massive slump over the last few years. On their most recent tour to England, they failed to win a single game.

In fact, Sri Lanka have lost their last five T20I series and have won just one series against Pakistan in their previous 10 series. In ODIs, they have lost their last two series against England and Bangladesh. Sri Lanka’s last series win against a strong team came in 2014-15 against England. Post that, they have mostly won against Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Ireland and West Indies.

Sri Lanka Squad (subjected to approval): Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjaya de Silva (Vice-Captain), Kusal Janith Perera, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Ashen Bandara, Lahiru Udara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha and Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

Follow for all the latest cricket, football, and other sports news from all parts of the world.

Mahela Jayawardene

Mahela Jayawardene set to join Sri Lanka U-19 side as consultant

Kamran Akmal

‘It didn’t feel as if Sri Lanka had left England’ – Kamran Akmal slams Pakistan for poor show in first ODI