South Africa batter surpasses AB de Villiers to bag most Man of the Match award in T20 internationals

David Miller bagged his 8th Player of the Match award after helping South Africa win the first T20I against India.

Ab de Villiers
Ab de Villiers: (Image Source: Twitter)

South African cricketer, David Miller won the Player of the Match award in the first T20I against India in Delhi on Thursday. Notably, it was his 8th Player of the Match award of his T20 international cricket career. And, with that, he has surpassed AB de Villiers to become the South African cricketer with the most Player of the Match awards in T20 internationals.

Overall, Mohammed Nabi tops the list with 13 Player of the Match awards, followed by Virat Kohli (12) and Shahid Afridi (11) in second and third position respectively. Earlier, AB de Villiers and David Miller had the joint-most number of awards for South Africa.

However, after exhibiting a sensational performance with the bat, he has now surpassed AB de Villiers with most MOM awards for South Africa. In his T20 international career so far, David Miller has scored 1786 runs at an average and a strike rate of 31 and 140.6.

He has been in outstanding form, of late. Miller played a vital role with the bat in helping Gujarat lift the Indian T20 League 2022 title. In 16 matches, he scored 481 runs at an average and a strike rate of 68.71 and 142.73 respectively.

David Millier produced a sensational knock of 64 runs in just 31 balls on Thursday to help the team chase down a 212-runt total in just 19.1 overs. David Miller’s knock was studded with 4 fours and 5 sixes and played at a strike rate of 206.45. Rassie van der Dussen also played a valuable knock of 75 runs in 46 balls, including 7 fours and 5 sixes.

Earlier, India batted exceedingly well to put on a mammoth score of 211 runs on the board, in the first innings. Ishan Kishan starred with the bat, scoring 76 runs in 48 balls, while the likes of Iyer, Pant and Hardik Pandya all made valuable contributions as well. However, all of that went in vain as South Africa chased down the score pretty comfortably.


Indian Cricketers

Top 10 expensive houses of Indian cricketers

Rishabh Pant

Watch: Team India receive a warm welcome in Cuttack following 1st T20I defeat