Second season of Road Safety Series to commence on February 5th 2022

The tournament sees several former legends turning back the clock.

Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag
Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag (Image Credit: Twitter)

After a successful first edition, the Road Safety Series is all set to make a comeback next year. The tournament will take place in India and UAE from February 5th to March 19th. The UAE leg of the tournament will be held from March 1st, with the final scheduled to take place on March 19th.

The tournament is organized by MSPL and ANZA Investment Group. An official from Emirates Cricket Board confirmed that a NOC is issued to ANZA Investment Group by the board to organize the mega-event. The investment group is a company owned by Sheikh Hamdan Bin Mohammed Al Nahyan, who is the mayor of the western region of Abu Dhabi.

The second edition of the tournament is slated to become a massive hit and cricket fans all across the world are likely to enjoy it. The tournament see several former cricketers turning back the clock.

India won the first edition of the tournament after defeating Sri Lanka in the final by 14 runs. Yusuf Pathan won the Player of the Match award after scoring 62 runs off 36 balls and picking up two wickets. He was also the leading wicket-taker for the team in the tournament.

Last year, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Jonty Rhodes, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Carl Hooper, Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, Brett Lee, etc were part of the tournament. This season will have over 160 former international cricketers. Barring India and Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Australia and England also had a team in the previous edition.

Mohammad Rafique was Bangladesh’s captain, while Kevin Pietersen was the captain of the England Legends team. Tillakaratne Dilshan was the leading run-scorer of the last season and scored 271 runs at an average of 45.17 and a strike rate of 136.87. Dilshan also was the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, with 12 wickets in eight matches.

Bengal Warriors

Bengal Warriors eye comeback after humiliating defeat

Adelaide Strikers

Big Bash League – Match 28 – Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder – Preview, Playing XI, Live Streaming Details, and Updates