‘PSL Opening se jyada hype humare auction ki hai!’ – Memes galore as Women’s T20 League 2023 Auction signs off successfully

Five teams will look to win the inaugural season of the Women’s T20 League.

Women's T20 League
Women's T20 League (Image Source: Twitter)

The auction of the first season of the Women’s T20 League took place on 13 February 2023 at Jio World Convention Centre in Mumbai. Over 400 players participated in the auction process. However, the auction happened successfully and all five franchises managed to build up a solid squad for the inaugural season of the competition.

Smriti Mandhana from India Women’s team bagged the highest bid in the auction. The Bangalore franchise bought her for a whopping amount of INR 3.4 Crores. However, apart from her, the Bangalore franchise bought many other superstars from global women’s cricket. Along with Bangalore, Mumbai, Delhi, UP, and Gujarat were the other four franchises.

Women’s T20 League 2023 will take place from 3 March to 26 March 

10 rounds of the auction took place followed by three rounds of accelerated auction. 87 players were sold out of 448 players for a total amount of 59.5 Crores. Among those sold players, 57 players were Indians and 30 players were overseas. For Bangalore, Smriti Mandhana, Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Renuka Singh, Richa Ghosh, Heather Knight, and Megan Schutt are the top players to watch out for. Harmanpreet Kaur, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, and Yastika Bhatia are the top buys for the Mumbai franchise. While Gujarat bought top players like Ashleigh Gardner, Beth Mooney, Sophia Dunkley, Annabel Sutherland, Harleen Deol, and Deandra Dottin. 

For the UP franchise, Sophie Ecclestone, Deepti Sharma, Tahlia McGrath, Alyssa Healy, and Rajeshwari Gayakwad are the top players. The Under-19 World Cup-winning player, Shweta Sehrawat also bagged a contract for the UP franchise. Jemimah Rodrigues, Meg Lanning, Shafali Verma, Radha Yadav, Marizanne Kapp, Titas Sadhu, and Jess Jonassen are a part of the Delhi franchise. The tournament will take place at Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. However, after the auction, fans came up with some top memes on social media platforms while trolling PSL. 

Here are some top memes that were shared by fans regarding the auction of the Women’s T20 League 2023:

Prithvi Shaw

‘Shirdi wale Sai Baba deta chappar phadke!’ – Fans go crazy as Prithvi Shaw shares special Instagram story with his ‘wifey’ on Valentine’s Day

Hardik Pandya

‘Match khatam hone ke baad toss karne jaa raha hai!’ – Fans congratulate Hardik Pandya for his ‘White’ wedding with Nataša Stanković on Valentine’s day