PSL 7: Complete list of players retained by franchises

Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, and Peshwar Zalmi have retained eight players

Multan Sultans
Multan Sultans ( Image Credit: Twitter)

The seventh season of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) will begin on January 27. Ahead of the T20 tournament, the much-anticipated player draft will take place at the National High-Performance Center on Sunday, December 12. A whopping number of 425 players from 32 countries have registered for the draft. Lahore Qalandars will get the first opportunity to choose from the Platinum category, followed by Multan Sultans, Karachi Kings, Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi, and Quetta Gladiators.

The six franchises can comprise 18 players that include three each from Platinum, Diamond, and Gold categories. Five players can be selected from the Silver category, while 2 players can be picked from Emerging and Supplementary categories. The franchises will also have the Right to Match Card (RTM) which they can use to pick players they originally released from their roaster.

Meanwhile, the franchises have released the list of their retained players. Defending champions Multan Sultans retained their gun players Mohammad Rizwan and Rilee Rossouw in the Platinum category. Imran Tahir and Sohaib Maqsood are retained from the Diamond category. Khushdil Shah (Gold, Brand Ambassador), Shahnawaz Dahani, and Shan Masood are picked from the Gold category.

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam (Platinum) and Afghanistan all-rounder Mohammad Nabi (Diamond) will play for Karachi Kings. Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, and Peshawar Zalmi have retained eight players, while Quetta Gladiators and Multan Sultans have retained seven players.

Player retention list

Islamabad United (8) – Asif Ali, Hasan Ali (both Platinum), Faheem Ashraf (Diamond), Shadab Khan (Diamond, Brand Ambassador), Alex Hales (Gold, Mentor), Azam Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr (both Gold), and Paul Stirling (Silver)

Karachi Kings (8) – Babar Azam, Imad Wasim (both Platinum), Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nabi (both Diamond), Joe Clarke (Gold, Brand Ambassador), Aamir Yamin, Sharjeel Khan (both Gold), and Mohammad Ilyas (Silver)

Lahore Qalandars (8) – Rashid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi (both Platinum), Haris Rauf (Diamond, Brand Ambassador), David Wiese, Mohammad Hafeez (both Diamond), Ahmed Daniyal, Sohail Akhtar, and Zeeshan Ashraf (all Silver)

Multan Sultans (7) – Mohammad Rizwan, Rilee Rossouw (both Platinum), Imran Tahir (Diamond, Mentor), Sohaib Maqsood (Diamond), Khushdil Shah (Gold, Brand Ambassador), Shahnawaz Dahani, and Shan Masood (both Gold)

Peshawar Zalmi (8) – Liam Livingstone, Wahab Riaz (both Platinum), Haider Ali, Sherfane Rutherford, Shoaib Malik (all Diamond), Hussain Talat (Gold), Saqib Mahmood (Gold, Brand Ambassador), and Tom Kohler-Cadmore (Silver)

Quetta Gladiators (7) – James Vince, Sarfaraz Ahmed (both Platinum), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz (both Diamond), Shahid Afridi (Gold, Mentor), Mohammad Hasnain (Gold, Brand Ambassador), and Naseem Shah (Gold)

Some of the international stars available in the PSL Draft 2022:

Platinum – David Miller (South Africa), Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies), Chris Gayle (West Indies), Chris Jordan (England), Colin Munro (New Zealand), Colin Ingram (South Africa), David Willey (England), Isuru Udana (Sri Lanka), Jason Roy (England), Marchant De Lange (South Africa), Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), Shimron Hetmyer (West Indies), Tabraiz Shamsi (South Africa), Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka), Tom Banton (England) and Tymal Mills (England).

Diamond – Afsar Zazai (Afghanistan), Ben Dunk (Australia), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Sri Lanka), Blessing Muzarabani (Zimbabwe), Fabian Allen (West Indies), Hamid Hassan (Afghanistan), Hazratullah Zazai (Afghanistan), James Faulkner (Australia), Joe Clarke (England), Johnson Charles (West Indies), Kusal Mendis (Sri Lanka), Lendl Simmons (West Indies), Lewis Gregory (England), Mahmudullah Riyad (Bangladesh), Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Najibullah Zadran (Afghanistan), Naveenul Haq (Afghanistan), Niroshan Dickwella (Sri Lanka), Ollie Robinson (England), Phil Salt (England), Qais Ahmad (Afghanistan), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Afghanistan), Reece Topley (England), Samit Patel (England) and Sheldon Cottrell (West Indies).

Sydney Sixers vs Hobart Hurricanes

BBL 2021-22:  Match 8: Sydney Sixers vs Hobart Hurricanes: Preview

Galle Gladiators

Lanka Premier League – Match 10 – Galle Gladiators vs Kandy Warriors – Preview, Playing XI, Live Streaming Details and Updates