PSL 6: Peshawar Zalmi vs Karachi Kings– Eliminator – Preview, Playing XI, Pitch Report & Updates

Both teams won five and lost five games in the league stage

Peshawar Zalmi
Peshawar Zalmi ( Image Credit: Twitter)

Peshawar Zalmi and Karachi Kings will lock horns in the Eliminator of the PSL 6. Both teams were good in patches but far from the consistency we expect from them. Despite losing their last league game to Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi will be pleased to see Kamran Akmal and Shoaib Malik get runs. Both are very experienced in this format of the game and match winners on their day. Only if the likes of Hazratullah Zazai, Rovman Powell, Sherfane Rutherford can contribute, they will be very hard to get past. 

Wahab Riaz is spitting venom with his bowling. He is the leading wicket-taker for Peshawar with 14 wickets in 9 games. While Sameen Gul, Umaid Asif and Waqar Salamkheil have bowled well, they have not taken many wickets which has put tremendous pressure on Wahab. 

Karachi Kings lost momentum in the second half of PSL and needed to win both their final games by decent margins to qualify. Karachi boast of a formidable batting lineup with Babar Azam, Sharjeel Khan, Martin Guptill, Najibullah, and Chadwick Walton at disposal. However, apart from Babar, none of the batsmen has lived up to the expectations. Danish Aziz played a match-winning 45 off 13 balls to take Karachi through to the playoffs. Maybe Karachi can think of promoting him up the order. The bowling seems a little bleak and the onus will be on the batsmen to make a match out of it. 

Pitch Report

The batsmen have struggled to get going due to the slow nature of the surface. However, we have seen a few blistering knocks played as well. Once the batsman is set, it’s far easier to score runs.

Match Details

Match – Peshawar Zalmi vs Karachi Kings – Eliminator

Venue – Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Time – 11:30 PM IST

Where to watch live – Sony Sports Network, Sony LIV

Probable XI’s

Peshawar Zalmi

Kamran Akmal (wk), Hazratullah Zazai, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Rovman Powell, Sherfane Rutherford, Wahab Riaz, Umaid Asif, Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Irfan and Sameen Gul

Karachi Kings

Sharjeel Khan, Martin Guptill, Babar Azam, Chadwick Walton (wk), Danish Aziz, Najeebullah Zadran, Imad Wasim (c), Mohd Amir, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Ilyas and Abbas Afridi

Ramiz Raza

WTC final: ‘It will be tough but not impossible’ – Ramiz Raja reveals how India can claw back into the match

Suart MacGill

‘I have done nothing wrong’ – Stuart MacGill opens up on alleged kidnapping