Players with most T20 centuries, Ft. Babar Azam

Topping the chart of most T20 centuries is none other than 'Universal Boss' Chris Gayle. The Caribbean Storm leads by a huge margin with 22 tons. 

Mathew K
New Update
Babar Azam (Source: X)

Babar Azam (Source: X)

T20 cricket is considered to be a favourite format for batters and a nightmare for bowlers. The shortest and fastest, also the most captivating among the three formats of the game is often dominated by batters with their power striking, showing no mercy to the opposition bowlers.


However, given the number of deliveries (120 balls), it is difficult for a batter to score a century in this format as compared to others. For the same reason, only two batters have scored 100 centuries in the history of 20-over cricket. Topping the chart is none other than 'Universal Boss' Chris Gayle. The Caribbean Storm leads by a huge margin with 22 tons. 

Meanwhile, the former Pakistan captain became the second batter to score more than 10 centuries in the format. The right-hander achieved this massive feat in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) match between Islamabad United and Peshawar Zalmi. The Zalmi skipper remained unbeaten on 111 off 63 balls, a knock that included 14 fours and 2 sixes. 

It was his second hundred in the PSL and 11th overall in T20 cricket, highlighting his consistency and dominance. After being asked to bat first, Zalmi got off to a great start with both the openers - Saim Ayub and Babar - scoring at a brisk rate. However, Ayub's wicket resulted in a mini-batting collapse for Zalmi. But Babar held on at one and steadied the ship with a brilliant innings.


The 29-year-old reached the three-digit mark in just 49 balls. On the back of his scintillating knock, Zalmi crossed the 200-run mark. Chasing a massive total, Islamabad United displayed a brilliant fight back but in the end, they fell short of 8 runs. 

Australian players (3 players) dominated the list of players who have scored the most T20 centuries. There is only one Indian batter in the list of top 6 batters - former Indian captain Virat Kohli. It is surprising to see no Rohit Sharma, the joint leading century-getter in international cricket, missing out on the list. 

Here is the full list of Top 6 players with most T20 centuries:

Batter  100s  Matches  Runs  Strike Rate 
   Chris Gayle (WI)    22    463    14,562    144.75
   Babar Azam (PAK)    11    275    10275    129.05
   Michael Klinger (AUS)    8    206    5,960    123.08
   David Warner (AUS)    8    370    12,065    140.17
   Virat Kohli (IND)    8    376    11,994    133.35
   Aaron Finch (AUS)    8    387    11,458    138.53


featured Babar Azam PSL