‘Pehle kaunsa batake toss karte Chicha?’ - Fans confused as Indian T20 League set to make major rule changes for 2023 season

Here is how fans have reacted to the reported rule changes in the upcoming edition of the Indian T20 League

New Update
Indian T20 League

Indian T20 League (Image Source: Twitter)

The upcoming edition of the Indian T20 League is going to kick off on 31 March 2023. Gujarat franchise will look to defend the title after winning it in the last year at their maiden attempt. But, now reports have come out that some major changes are going to happen in the tournament from this upcoming edition. 


As per reports of EspnCricinfo, teams will name the playing XI after the toss in the Indian T20 League 2023. Apart from it, Unfair movement by Keeper or fielders will result in a dead ball & five penalty runs. Only four fielders will be allowed outside 30 yards for every over not completed within time. Hearing such news, fans become confused and shared their views on the social media platform.

Indian T20 League will look to implement the rule successfully as SA20 did in its inaugural season 

Currently, teams exchange their playing XI before the toss. But, with this change, teams need to exchange their playing XI immediately post the toss. It will help them to determine a perfect playing XI based on the decision taken by the winner of the toss. Even, it will also help teams to determine the ‘impact player’. However, the SA20 tournament has already implemented this rule in its inaugural season.


Teams used to give 13 players’ names before finalising the playing XI after the toss. As per them, it will lower the impact of the toss in the game. Speaking of the Indian T20 League 2023, it will kick off on 31 March and run over the course of 52 days. The 12 selected venues are Ahmedabad, Mohali, Lucknow, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata, Jaipur, Mumbai, Guwahati, and Dharamsala. However, the tournament will be back with its home-and-away match format this time around. A total of 70 matches will be played in the group stage of the tournament in the 2023 edition.

Here is how fans have reacted to the reported changes to happen in the Indian T20 League 2023:


Cricket News IPL 2023 Kolkata Knight Riders Twitter Reactions