Pat Cummins wants ICC to consider revising the DRS rules

Sky247 Staff
Mar 08, 2021 06:15 IST
New Update
Pat Cummins

Pat Cummins ( Image Credit Twitter)

The decision review system was introduced to rectify the on field umpiring errors. Though it been a brilliant addition to the game, at times, experts have raised their concerns over the accuracy of the DRS. One of the most controversial features in the review system is the ‘Umpires Call’ which the Australian vice-captain, Pat Cummins believes work against the bowlers. Speaking to Fox Cricket, Pat Cummins admitted that he doesn’t understand why the hitting zone of the stumps does not include the bails. The ace pacer claimed that it makes it difficult for the bowlers to get the LBW decision in their favour.


“They measure the 50 per cent of the ball not from the top of the bail, but from the line you see from the top of the stump. So you almost need 70 per cent of the ball. It brings down the area you’ve got to be hitting the stumps to quite small. It almost has to be a half-volley for someone who’s quite tall, or you have to be bowling so straight from stump to stump.”

Currently, more than 50% of the ball has to hit the hitting zone for a decision to be overturned. The hitting zone stretches from the outer ends of the off and leg stumps horizontally. However, when it comes to hitting the stumps vertically, it does not include the ball. This means that even if part of the ball is hitting the bails, the decision can’t be overturned. Cummins added that this rule work against the bowlers who get a lot of bounce.

“Nathan Lyon bowling here in Australia obviously gets quite a lot of bounce — it’s so hard for him to get an lbw. It has to be hitting the stumps for a batter to be out lbw – but it can also be hitting the stumps and they still won’t be out,” Cummins argued.

Cummins also requested the ICC to consider returning the review in case of close caught behind calls. Currently, the reviews are returned on 'umpires call' in an LBW review.

“I understand it’s there for the howler, they keep saying. But I don’t understand why then nicks behind are so black and white. I know he’s either nicked it or he hasn’t, but there are times where you’re not 100 per cent whether snicko lines up or you can’t say for certain whether he’s copped glove,” he concluded

#Cricket News #International