Pakistan announce squads for England and West Indies tours

Quetta Gladiators’ Azam Khan is the new face in the T20I squad

Pakistan ( Image Credit: Twitter)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the Pakistan squads for the England and West Indies tours. The ‘Men in Green’ will take field in three ODIs and as many T20Is against England before crossing swords with T20 World Champions West Indies in five T20Is followed by two Tests.

The selectors have recalled Haris Sohail in the ODI side while all-rounder Imad Wasim has returned to the T20I squad. Pacers Mohammad Abbas and Naseem Shah have been included in the Test squad. Yasir Shah’s inclusion in the Test squad is subjected to his fitness. Leg spinner Zahid Mahmood, left-arm spinner Nauman Ali and off-spinner Sajid Khan have been retained in the Test squad.

Uncapped Saud Shakeel, who missed the South Africa series due to injury finds a place back into the squad while Salman Agha, who was left out of the Test squad, has been included in the ODIs. Fakhar Zaman has also retained his slot after an outstanding series against South Africa. Quetta Gladiators’ Azam Khan is the new face in the T20I squad.

Post announcing the squad, Pakistan chief selector Mohammad Wasim said that they have maintained the same core of the team keeping the World Cup Super League and the T20 World Cup in mind.

“We have remained consistent in our selection and kept the same core of cricketers who have been in the set-up for a while. This is an extremely important and critical tour for Pakistan as we will be playing the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League ODIs against England as well as the T20Is against England and the West Indies as part of our preparations for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. The Jamaica Test will count towards the ICC World Test Championship.”

ODI Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf , Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Usman Qadir.

T20I Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Arshad Iqbal, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sharjeel Khan and Usman Qadir.

Test Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper) (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imran Butt, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Yasir Shah (subject to fitness) and Zahid Mahmood

England tour:

25 June – Departure for Manchester

6 July – Arrival in Cardiff

8 July – 1st ODI, Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

10 July – 2nd ODI, Lord’s, London

13 July – 3rd ODI, Edgbaston, Birmingham

16 July – 1st T20I, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

18 July – 2nd T20I, Headingley, Leeds

20 July – 3rd T20I, Old Trafford, Manchester

West Indies tour:

21 Jul – Arrival in Barbados

27 Jul – 1st T20I, Kensington Oval, Barbados

28 Jul – 2nd T20I, Kensington Oval, Barbados

31 Jul – 3rd T20I, Providence Stadium, Guyana

1 Aug – 4th T20I, Providence Stadium, Guyana

3 Aug – 5th T20I, Providence Stadium, Guyana

6-7 Aug – Two-day practice match, Guyana

12-16 Aug – 1st Test, Sabina Park, Jamaica

20-24 Aug – 2nd Test, Sabina Park, Jamaica

25 Aug – Departure

Ishant Sharma

India’s men and women team reach Southampton; to undergo five-day isolation

Ramiz Raza

‘World Test Championship is interesting because India is in the final’ – Ramiz Raja