PAK vs AUS: Australia announce white-ball squad, prominent players rested

David Warner, Pat Cummins has been rested from the squad

Australia ( Image Credit: Twitter)

Pakistan is all set to host the Australian team after a 24 long years. The last time Australia visited Pakistan was in 1998. The tour will comprise three Tests, three ODIs and a lone T20.  The squad will be led by Aaron Finch, and boasts of most of the regulars. However, a few seniors have been given a break.

The likes of David Warner, Glenn Maxwell, who will get married in the coming weeks, won’t be part of limited overs squad. Australia’s bowling trio – Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Starc will miss out on the limited-overs series as well.

“We have picked a talented and versatile squad with a number of challenges to juggle,” said George Bailey, chairperson of the selectors. He also pointed out that they need to build the squad to have more depth in the next 18 months. “We’re confident the squad can both compete successfully on this tour and continue our progress towards those crucial tournaments,” he added.

The Test matches are scheduled first in the tour. The ODIs and the T20 will be played later on. The first test will begin on the 4th of March at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, followed by the next two matches in Karachi and Lahore. All the limited over games will be played in Rawalpindi as well.

Australia’s white-ball squad:

Aaron Finch (capt), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa.

Haris Rauf

Watch: PSL witness another controversy as Haris Rauf slaps Kamran Ghulam

Yuvraj Singh, Virat Kohli

‘Mere liye tu hamesha Cheeku rahega’ – Yuvraj Singh gifts Golden Boot to Virat Kohli while praising him in heartfelt note