No Indian in Harsha Bhogle’s team of the 20-20 World Cup

Bhogle picked the team based on performances and stats

Harsha Bhogle
Harsha Bhogle ( Image Credit: Twitter)

The Super 12 stage of the 20-20 World Cup concluded on Monday (November 8). Pakistan, England, Australia, and New Zealand were the teams who booked their berths in the knockouts. There was a lot of action in store in the league stage as there were intense battles, unexpected exits, and a few emotional farewells. Cricket though reigned supremacy and few players sizzled for the respective teams.

Renowned India commenter Harsha Bhogle took all those aspects into account and named his team of the tournament after the conclusion of the Super 12 stage.

Bhogle selected Jos Buttler and Babar Azam as openers for his team. The England wicketkeeper-batter is in sublime form. He has so far scored 240 runs in five games at an average of 120.00. He also scored the tournament’s first hundred against Sri Lanka. Pakistan skipper Babar Azam, on the other hand, is the leading run-scorer of the tournament with 264 runs. Azam has been phenomenally consistent for Pakistan at the top and has perfectly laid the foundation for the middle-order batters. At numbers three, four and five, Bhogle has included Sri Lanka’s Charith Asalanka, South Africa batter Aiden Markram and Shoaib Malik respectively.

The trio has been brilliant in the showpiece event. Asalanka was one bright spot in the team’s batting department. He finished the tournament with 231 runs. South Africa batter Markram was a delight to watch. The batter played a pivotal role in South Africa’s good run in the tournament.

Pakistan’s senior batter Malik showed his class after scoring a blistering 18-balls 50 against Scotland and solidified his reputation as one of the best Pakistan player. For the all-rounders, Bhogle went with Moeen Ali and David Wiese. The duo have been effective with bat and ball for England and Namibia respectively.

The expert went with Waninudu Hasaranga, Anrich Nortje, Josh Hazlewood, and Shaheen Shah Afridi as the bowlers. Hasaranga has picked up 16 wickets and is the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, while Nortje and Hazlewood have taken nine and eight wickets respectively. Afridi has six wickets in five games. Surprisingly, Bhogle didn’t select any Indian his team. He, however, asked the fans if Bumrah can make the list in place of Hazelwood.

Virat Kohli

‘Thank you Virat Kohli’ – Fans flood Twitter with emotional posts as Virat Kohli bids farewell as India T20I captain

Tom Harrison

ECB CEO Tom Harrison visits Pakistan to work out relations with PCB