New Zealand players to participate in second leg of IPL

Seven Kiwi cricketers are currently contracted with IPL teams

Finn Allen
Finn Allen ( Image Credit: Twitter)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is all set to host the remaining matches of the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in September and October in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). As the BCCI confirmed the second leg of IPL 2021, there was a lot of uncertainty over the participation of many overseas players in the league.

Since IPL 2021 is likely to clash with international fixtures, it was speculated that the overseas players might pull out their names from the tournament. However, there is a relief for many IPL franchises as the New Zealand players have confirmed their availability for the T20 Championship.

Seven Kiwi cricketers are currently contracted with IPL teams including the likes of Kyle Jamieson, Trent Boult, Kane Williamson, Lockie Ferguson, Jimmy Neesham, Tim Seifert, and Finn Allen. A source close to an IPL franchise confirmed that BCCI is in talks with England and Australian players regarding their presence in the remaining matches of IPL 2021.

A report in has quoted an IPL franchise saying, “We are much relieved now. BCCI are in talks with English and Australian boards to come to a consensus regarding this. Given April and May are earmarked for the IPL, they are right to raise their own objections but we are now confirmed to witness New Zealand players in action.”

While there is uncertainty over the presence of Australian players for the remaining IPL 2021, England players are unlikely to feature in the league. Last month the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) director Ashley Giles confirmed that no English player will be allowed to play in the T20 league over international duties.

Sania Mirza

Tokyo 2020: ‘I am in my 30s and I’m still here’ – Sania on her retirement plans

Dwaine Pretorious

Dwaine Pretorius tests positive for COVID-19, Wiaan Mulder called as replacement for WI T20Is