New Zealand Cricket hand central contracts to 20 players; Daryl Mitchell and Glenn Phillips among new entrants

New Zealand Cricket has handed central contracts for 20 players for the upcoming 2021-22 season with Mitchell and Phillips

Sky247 Staff
New Update
New Zealand Cricket hand central contracts to 20 players; Daryl Mitchell and Glenn Phillips among new entrants

Daryl Mitchell (Source: Twitter)

New Zealand Cricket, on Friday, announced central contracts for the 2021-22 season. Glenn Phillips and Daryl Mitchell who performed extremely well in the previous season, have been offered their first deal. On the other hand, Ajaz Patel, the left-arm spinner, has been omitted from the list.


BJ Watling is set to play the last game of his career against India next month in the World Test Championship (WTC) final. He announced his international retirement earlier this week and expectedly, hasn't been included in the central contracts list.

"I'd like to congratulate all the players offered agreements for the coming season and in particular newcomers Daryl and Glenn. Receiving your first national contract is a great moment in any player's career and both thoroughly deserve their elevation.

"There's no question Daryl and Glenn took their games to another level over the summer and have added to the growing depth of talent we now enjoy," New Zealand selector Gavin Larsen said according to ESPNCricinfo.


Phillips impressed everyone with his batting in the T20 format. Rather he also dislodged the veteran Ross Taylor from the New Zealand T20I team and is now currently batting in the middle-order. Phillips played 14 T20Is last summer scoring 366 at an average of over 40 and a superb stirke-rate of 185.

As far as Daryl Mitchell is concerned, he stepped up well in the absence of injured Colin de Grandhomme. He consistently contributed with the ball and also struck maiden Test and ODI centuries playing key roles in the team's victories.

NZ contracts list for 2021-22: Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor,Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young

Cricket News New Zealand