New Zealand announce squad for T20 World Cup

The squads for Bangladesh and Pakistan tours were also announced

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson along with several other senior players won’t be part of Zealand’s upcoming tours of Bangladesh and Pakistan. With a hectic schedule ahead, which also includes a T20 World Cup, New Zealand doesn’t want to burn out their players before the showpiece event. Most of the players will also take part in the second leg of Indian Premier League (IPL) thus the board decided to give the senior players a breather before they look to claim their second world title this year.

New Zealand Cricket chief executive David White said changing times demanded changing strategies, with player welfare and support one of professional sport’s biggest challenges, particularly in the current pandemic environment.

“The need to safeguard the well-being of our players and support staff is now very real, and we’ve endeavoured to do this by carefully managing their workloads over this (year’s) massive playing programme,” White said.

Tom Latham will lead New Zealand on Bangladesh and Pakistan tours before Kane Williamson links up with the team for the T20 World CUP that gets underway on October 17.

Veteran Ross Taylor was earlier selected for the Pakistan ODIs but due to the stern quarantine protocols, it was decided he will stay in New Zealand to prepare for the Test series against India, the squad of which will be announced next month.

New Zealand squad for the Twenty20 World Cup and India Twenty 20s: Kane Williamson (capt), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

New Zealand Squad for Bangladesh Twenty20s and Pakistan ODIs: Tom Latham (capt), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young.

New Zealand Squad for Pakistan Twenty20s: TomLatham (capt), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young.

Cheteshwar Pujara

‘That’s why they call me the ‘rock’ – Cheteshwar Pujara opens up on challenges of batting in top order

ICC wants cricket in Olympics

ICC keen to get cricket into Olympics